Sunday morning meanderings and a very good pudding…

Several consecutive days of sunny weather in the Northern hemisphere, even this early in the year, herald the appearance of that sartorial sundowner, the G&T of the trouser world, the short or, to be accurate, shorts as they always travel in pairs. Calves are not only appearing in the byres and fields of this corner of France, but they are also to be seen protruding palely from these shorts as they perambulate their owners through the narrow winding streets of ancient villages on their annual Easter pilgrimage in search of the “real” France. The “real” France is actually on holiday with the Holy Grail, Huckleberry Finn and the Darling Buds of May but minds filled with memories of “A Year in Provence” will urge those pale calves to bear their owners fruitlessly onwards in their quest. Humans have never really got the hang of the pleasure of reading as they tend to treat the written word as truth even though it is more than likely nothing more than an opinion and often clearly labelled as fiction. Simon Cowell’s musings, though he himself is not a writer to my knowledge,  must have created for him as many followers as a lightweight prophet and readers of newspapers such as the Daily Mail or the Sun have a seemingly unwavering belief in the opinions expressed therein. At this point I lost interest in my thoughts and went downstairs to cook, perchance to dream. The opinions residing in a good number of my cookery books seem valid as I eat and enjoy the results and even share them with others. Today I cut a passion fruit in half and realised that it not only tasted good, even better with crème fraiche and vanilla sugar, but that it looked rudely wonderful – but that’s just my opinion.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cookery Writers, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, photography course, Photography holiday, summer, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday morning meanderings and a very good pudding…

  1. What a very, very beautiful pair of photos – like the shorts, the passion fruit came in pairs!

  2. I’ll have to try that for a simple dessert. Your photos are marvelous, of course.

  3. “The G&Tof the trouser world…”
    Love it!
    Alas (for my neighbors, at least), I will be keeping my so-pale-they-could-be-mistaken-for-moonlight calves on this side of the Pond this Easter…but might be able to indulge in some passionfruit, even from here…
    Marvelous Musings.

  4. spree says:

    Isn’t passion fruit the most surprising fruit? Not the taste, which is intoxicating & heavenly as you’d expect it to be, but what’s revealed when you open the package. The outsides don’t give a hint of a clue to what ecstasy you’ll find inside. Nor do the insides look anything like what they taste like. I love your idea of combining with fraiche and vanilla sugar. And of course, I love your photos too.

  5. Sinfully seductive photos for a Sunday Roger 🙂 the fruits of a warmer weather. Don’t tell me you picked these off the vine?

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Beautiful photography!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Wait a minute! The Holy Grail, Huckleberry Finn, and the Darling Buds of May are all on holiday together? It must be beautiful there, wherever it is.

    I’m always to the last to know. I’ve never had passion fruit, either.

  8. What a cool shot! Both are good, but I really love that first one.

  9. I have been chuckling over this, Roger. I shall think of you as the shorts and pale legs come out to play here. Although I think the British lack the bare faced panache of the French when it comes to baring all in this way.

  10. I think the book definitely serves to describe the wonderful possibilities of food in France.. notwithstanding your lovely passionfruit.. but I’m wondering why the “rude” descriptor, I thought it was purely lovely:) Smidge

  11. Michelle says:

    Oh so beautiful—even from this non-lover of passion fruit. (Steve would disagree about the fruit, but couldn’t possibly about the photos!).

  12. Ah, passionfruit. I greedily keep these to myself as my boyfriend is a fiend for them.

  13. kiwikar says:

    Totally going to try this!

  14. katyarich says:

    Very nice pictures, I just love passion fruit, in my hometown we also use to make delicious smooth drinks with it, 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.