La recherche du pain perdu or memories of idyllic petits dejs….

Croissants are iconic. They say France and they invoke the smell of coffee and the taste of apricot jam in whichever setting of that extraordinary country to which you have been transported by your imagination – blue seas, peaceful mountains or immersed in the honking horns of the bustling city. Petit déjeuner, for me, exists in hotels and cafés neither of which I frequent first thing in the morning any more. I live deep in the café and hotel free countryside where I favour a cup of coffee with my emails and a banana whilst I consider the next move of the day. However, in preparation for a recent visit from our son, I had bought a bag of croissants in case the petit déjeuner fantasy got the better of him. It didn’t and I was left with more croissants at which you could shake a stick. I was left with the option of feeding them all the two matronly moutons in the field next door or finding an interesting way of eating at least one of them. Leafing through my books led me to this very sexy preparation which originated in the fertile culinary mind of Nigel Slater. Core a dessert apple, cut it into quarters and cut the quarters into four. Heat some butter in a pan and add the apple slices whilst, with the other hand, turning on the grill. Whilst the apples turn meltingly golden take the opportunity to slit some croissants in half lengthwise and brown them under the grill. When the apples are suitably sticky they just need a splash of Calvados swirled through them. Spinning on your heel you bend to open the freezer door and extricate a box of vanilla or caramel ice cream. Place two scoops of ice cream on one half of the hot, crisp croissant and top with Calvados imbued slices of warm, buttery apple s with some of the pan juices. Put on a crisp croissant lid and as the ice cream melts find a reasonably unmessy way of putting  the delicious confection in your gob.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in apples, Apricot jam, Baking, cafe, Cooking, Croissant, Digital photography, Eau de vie, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Nigel Slater, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to La recherche du pain perdu or memories of idyllic petits dejs….

  1. Glad the moutons didn´t get the croissants! I really must apply myself to making some one day as the ones you buy here are pretty disgusting. Beautiful shot, hope the ice cream didn´t melt too much before you finished shooting it and got around to eating it 😉

  2. peasepudding says:

    Perfect, I do love a decadent breakfast.

  3. Wonderful! Brunch. Beautiful photography Roger.

  4. Big fan of croissants here. The photo in this post is delectable.

  5. I haven’t wanted a croissant in years, now I’m craving one!

  6. Tandy says:

    Yum! Much better than breakfast of plain croissants 🙂

  7. Oh, my. Your very mention of “petit déjeuner” reminds me of my high school French classes. I loved our section on food and wine. I aced that exam!

  8. Beautiful photograph, as always, Roger! It, and your description, got my mouth watering.

  9. Mad Dog says:

    That’s got to be good – calvados for breakfast!
    I’ve got some real calvados, home made by a 90 year old man in Normandy – in his pressure cooker! It beats the shop bought stuff on taste and smell alone…

  10. spree says:

    oh my word what an exquisite petit déjeuner! positively gorgeous, seductive and naughty-good! (now please tell me how to say that in French – it would sound so much better!) Nigel Slater must be some sort of genius, non? And a very lovely photograph Roger!

  11. oh my! you had me at the photo! the description completely melted my heart!
    beautiful work as always.

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    I was impressed by just the apples. Calvados, and grilled croissant — and then you reached for the ice cream. Roger, this one really hit home! It sounds wonderful and I need to remember it for the Summer. Thanks!

  13. Yummy! Wonderful recipe Roger. By the title of your post I thought you were making pain perdu 😉

  14. Croissants… Hi Roger, I hear their smell here, in Italy… Yes, they are iconic… I remember those words: “If they haven’t bread, give them croissants…”

  15. Wow, looks and sounds divine!

  16. That sounds utterly gorgeous: but would it taste anywhere near as good with English croissants? I fear not…

Leave a Reply

