Say cheese….

Sometimes a picture taken quickly, for no reason other than the colours look wonderful, feels right. This is one of three frames taken at the end of dinner of a piece of old Gouda with a blue knife that was given to me by Mary Cadogan. It’s a simple recipe – cut off a piece of cheese with the blue knife and eat it with a glass of red wine.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, harmony, Mary Cadogan, Wine, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Say cheese….

  1. I did a double take for a second because I thought the Gouda was a cork!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    Perfect, Roger, the photo and recipe, both! When I travelled abroad, I was far more likely to end a meal with cheese than with some sweet confection. I’d have my sweets in the afternoon at a cafe but at night, after a fine meal, let me sample some of the area’s finest cheese. I can honestly say I’ve never been disappointed, although there have been plenty of times when a dessert was much less than expected.

  3. Well, now I just have to have cheese! Love the photo.. looks like one of those you’d enlarge and hang in your kitchen or in a restaurant!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Where’s the Opinel?

    I had to get mine out of the sock drawer and check it for rust and sharpness 😉

  5. A work of art, simple, but draws you in, you want to know more about the cheese, you wonder what the texture of it will be, and the taste in your mouth.
    The simplest images often tell the biggest story.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  6. discovervin says:

    Gorgeous photo- crisp and sharp. A simple image that tells a story.

  7. Households without Resident Toddlers have candy-colored utensils, too? Who knew?
    Marvelous image…I’m missing Frence cheeses so much these days…

  8. *Tummy rumbles cavernously*

  9. I love how even the blade looks blue. You have some great knives. Wonderful shot.

  10. Dick Polak says:

    NIce pic bro !

  11. ....RaeDi says:

    Simple is always good! The photo is beautiful and you have captured the colors….

  12. Wow!
    You ARE an incredibly talented artist, Roger!
    That shot is priceless 🙂

  13. That’s a n excellent photo – the colours look so effective against one another. And… cheese and wine makes for the simplest and best ‘dinner’. That’s just my opinion though 🙂

  14. Pingback: Grateful for the Altitude; Grateful for the Time | Marina Chetner

Leave a Reply

