Not so much Eton Mess ….more of a raspberry.

The white cup, containing six egg whites, had been trying to attract my attention for a couple of days. Sweet pastry and lemon fillings tend to create a supply of nascent soufflés and meringues by dint of the phrase “take the yolks of 5 eggs” which division invariably leaves a similar amount of albumen, which then sits in white cups in the fridge.  Soufflés, however, require timing in that the recipients need to be ready to eat them as soon as they emerge from the oven, gloriously inflated by culinary alchemy, or certainly quite soon after that moment. The soufflé urgency is not upon me in the winter, and during this period their proud, air filled golden heads will, as with so many mortal examples of that genre,  have sunk out of sight by the time that it would have taken to  tempt me to the table from my chair by the fjre. A meringue is less demanding, and I find that to be a good quality in a pudding when I am still cosy in my cocoon awaiting to emerge, butterfly like, in Spring when I will be more prepared for exigencies of the soufflé. In this example of a Mess I have used frozen raspberries, which taste rather good,  in place of strawberries from far off climes, that have been cleverly cultivated to be without the taste that one expects from such a berry.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Cream, creme fraiche, Digital photography, Eton Mess, fireplace, Food and Photography, Food photographer, meringues, photography course, Photography holiday, raspberries, strawberries, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Not so much Eton Mess ….more of a raspberry.

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Eggs whites can be a bit of a problem – I have used them i the past for sticking breadcrumbs to fish and brushing on pastry. It’s dreadful to throw them away and fried egg white is quite unappealing. Meringues are one of the best options 😉

  2. My, those raspberries are deliciously bright! I’ve been wanting to try my hand at an Eton mess because Nigella Lawson keeps making them on her shows. I hope mine turns out half as decent as yours.

  3. That looks fantastic. Have not tried an Eton Mess but intend to soon, especially after seeing yours. Raspberries are wonderful and frankly, I’d choose them over strawberries because their clash of both bitter and sweet is wonderful.

  4. This post makes me smile – my husband makes friands (financiers) and macaroons with his leftover egg whites! This looks like a fine Mess – I am sending the link to him. I am enjoying your photos of meringue and raspberries. Re; your comment on strawberries, my mum likens them to potatoes – in size and taste.

  5. Oh my, I adore raspberries and my mum has promised me some for dessert on Thursday when we arrive in London! They´re very rare here but at least the Andalucian strawberries do taste good!

  6. ....RaeDi says:

    Beautiful photos! I can feel the fire and taste the ‘mess!’ It looks delicious enough to come out of the cacoon for a bit anyway!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    A “Mess”, eh? It looks delicious and I’ll be doing a little web surfing later. I’ve never attempted a soufflé, so, any ideas for using egg whites are always welcome. As always, your photography is top notch.

  8. Hmmm… I think I need that recipe, I’ve had to chuck a few whites in my day (shhh). Pretty and healthy too!!

  9. I love your image linking the meringue with the butterfly emerging in spring and your ‘mess’ looks even better. Should I ever have five egg whites I’ll have to try this! And definitely better to use frozen raspberries than those dreadful unnatural Huelva strawberries that are in our markets now and which I refuse to buy. I’ll wait for the local garriguettes.

  10. alex says:

    There is nothing as undemanding and yet fulfilling as eton mess – especially when you cheat as I sometimes do and buy meringues made by others (local, very good quality, yet still CHEATING!!!) My husband went to Eton and tells me that Eton Mess is actually a time of day at the school. ‘Messing’ is a time when you can be back in your own school house, making a cup of tea and toast after school – a sort of afternoon tea. I wonder whether the pud stole the name from the school or vice versa?

  11. I have this recipe in a Jamie Oliver’s book (30 minutes with JO), but I have never felt like making it, don’t know why…
    But now that I’ve seen your recipe is becoming more and more appealing …
    Greetings!

Leave a Reply

