Travels with my tongue….

 

My favourite journeys to the Middle East are made through flavour and aroma which choice precludes the frustrations, expense and inconvenience of travel. Jean des Esseintes, the hero of J.K.Huysmans’ novel “A rebours“, had a similar disenchantment with the mechanics of travelling. There is a moment in this 19th century book when des Esseintes decides to visit London, a city that he has only previously visited through the pages of literature. Great care is taken choosing and packing suitable clothing for his stay in the English capital, whilst his staff prepare the house for his absence with infinite care, even to the covering of furniture, mirrors and paintings with crisp white dust cloths. He leaves for London and, whilst waiting for his train in Paris, dines at an English restaurant where he is delighted to find that the food and the clientèle closely resemble his Dickensian notions, upon which realisation he speedily returns home sure in the knowledge that only disillusionment would await him if he continued his journey. Being of the same persuasion, with regard to unnecessary  travel, I am forever grateful to those inquisitive and dedicated writers and researchers who revel in this hardship, in order to bring back the recipes and ingredients of inconveniently distant places and peoples, and I urge them to even greater efforts. Without these selfless people I would not be totally absorbed in the wonders contained in “Casa Moro” by Sam & Sam Clark, co owners of the restaurant “Moro” in London’s Exmouth Market. I could and should enthuse over this establishment with all the superlatives that it deserves, but this has been done ad infinitum by folk with more credibility and clout than I. Suffice it to say that on entering the restaurant you are welcomed as a client to be cared for, fed and watered, rather than being questioned as to whether you have a right to be there, and if you do have that right then you should be aware how very lucky you are. Soon after opening the book I made this wonderful salad. I have to admit that I changed it to suit the ingredients that were available in our kitchen, replacing pumpkin with aubergine and treating it in the same way. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in aubergine, Chick peas, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Moro Restaurant and Cookbook, photography course, Photography holiday, Pumpkin and chickpea salad, Sam & Sam Clark, Tahini, Vegetables, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Travels with my tongue….

  1. Stunning photo Roger.
    I always think the best way to understand people is through their food, and your food here takes me on a beautiful journey to far away lands when it popped up in my inbox.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. I like the sound of the aubergine in this salad. Looks fantastic!

  3. Pumpkin and chickpeas? Sounds delicious. Bookmarking for autumn…

  4. A stunning photo to accompany a stunning recipe. Loved the story and it made me chuckle especially as I am off to London next week but so far have given no thought to what I´ll pack and doubt very much my furniture will be covered in crisp white dust cloths in my absence. Dust maybe though….

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    For me, there’s so much more to a salad than just fresh ingredients, although they are a must. The recipes show me that this salad will offer great favor combinations. Your photo shows its beauty and, to a degree, its many textures. Now that’s a great salad!

  6. And I have just traveled across the miles through your beautiful food photography! What an excellent and very healthy recipe!

  7. hotlyspiced says:

    Great photo of a beautiful looking salad! I love the sound of a Tahini dressing. I haven’t used tahini in that way before, I usually just use it to make hummus!

  8. Yes, “A rebours” (“Controcorrente”, in Italian), great and particular book! Thanks to remember it. And to invite us to re-read it!

  9. Tandy says:

    we love travelling due to all the new foods we encounter! I wonder what sort of hits you are going to get on this post with the title? Have a super weekend 🙂

  10. Wonderful recipe Roger!
    Actually I’m looking for recipes with tahini because I still have some of it after my hummus recipe from January. Thanks 🙂

  11. ....RaeDi says:

    If the salad tastes anything like the photo it is a true winner! I love travel, but I too love to find a good cookbook that gives me the feel of dinner outside my own kitchen and even better my own country!

  12. a. m. forret says:

    Truly my type of food; I’m out of tahini, must buy and make this…thank you ~

  13. This is one of my favourite recipes from Casa Moro and you’ve reminded me it’s time I made it again. Your version of it and your photograph are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

