A day in the woods with David Hockney…..

Several days have gone past since I watched a TV documentary about David Hockney’s recent paintings and upcoming exhibition. Seeing the creations of such a dazzling talent is simultaneously uplifting and depressing in that the intense beauty of his creations illuminate the lacklustre qualities of one’s own. There does not seem to be a period of his life when his work has not opened my eyes to another way of seeing. This is particularly relevant to a photographer in that so much of his work is, and has been, inspired by photographic media. So I set off into the local countryside and forest with David Hockney in my head. I searched for a comparatively dull route to a piece of woodland which was not of outstanding natural beauty, as I remembered the ordinariness of the site that Hockney had chosen for a set of seasonal pictures of trees. The conundrum is that nature is not adept at being dull and it is only through our looking, and lack of seeing, that we mistake dullness for our failure to see that which is there.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, France, French countryside, harmony, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to A day in the woods with David Hockney…..

  1. Beautiful and very, very far from ordinary.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I saw the same documentary – I’m sure that Mr Hockney would be suitably impressed by your use of colour – the pictures are good!
    I was most impressed by the 9 screen/camera video – I’d read about it and wasn’t expecting something so stunning – especially the snow on the trees. I’m pleased to see that David Hockney is still full of life.

  3. Rosy says:

    Nice post and beautiful photographs .

  4. There’s nothing wrong with your sight Roger. Never has been. Beautiful!

  5. “nature is not adept at being dull and it is only through our looking, and lack of seeing, that we mistake dullness for our failure to see that which is there”.

    SO true! These are very lovely photographs!

  6. Ahh Yes Mr H keeps it fresh, annoying isnt he.
    However that said your woodland pic kinda knocks it out the park. Stunning cant stop staring into it. perfect light!
    Nice to be inspired then to be full of creativity. pardon the metaphor spin but suddenly you realise the trees are the wood….

  7. John Harvey says:

    love it… “nature is not adept at being dull …”

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Beautifully written. Beautifully shot. For such a short post, it sure does make an impression!

  9. You’re so right… it’s truly on our “lack of seeing”.. thanks for the beautiful shots as a reminder this morning!!

  10. spree says:

    Roger, first of all the photos are exquisite. I adore the shot of the trees, their fallen and crumpled leaves, and the shadows stretching long and lean over them. That is perfectly stunning beauty to me! You crystallized what I’ve thought, but never articulated nearly as well as you — “nature is not adept at being dull and it is only through our looking, and lack of seeing, that we mistake dullness for our failure to see that which is there.” Such a beautiful post.

  11. These are really very beautiful: the light is jus amazing. Makes me want to jump on a plane and head for France..

  12. I like how the background lines in the first photo get softer. Terrific shot!

  13. Something about that first shot puts me in mind of a miniature railway, or something else created by hand to mimic nature…Is it the vivid color? Or the crisp foreground, and dreamy-soft back?
    I dunno, but I like it.
    Thanks for sharing both your photos and your thoughts – they brightened a grey, snowy day.

  14. Michelle says:

    Hockney is such a treasure and I so hope that the documentary makes it across the pond one day. But these photographs are so beautiful. So evocative of a morning walk in France.

  15. these are wonderful shots! The second has a mystical ethereal quality to it. Really enjoyed them both!

  16. I love the light, especially in the second one.

  17. Beautiful…actually, I believe your summation is apt for all nature, human, too ~

  18. ‘nature is not adept at being dull’ – very true and your photos show this, especially the second one with the wonderful light and the shadows of the trees. I’ve always like Hockney’s work too, but haven’t seen much of his latest project yet, although I’d read about it.

  19. Tandy says:

    your photo’s are amazing!

  20. Kenneth Hope says:

    I also saw the documentary and was impressed,I have always been a fan of David Hockney.
    Roger you do him justice both with your elegant images and your wise text.

  21. alex says:

    love the electric green in that top photo. We are hoping to go up and see the hockney soon, are you going to travel across the seas to do the same?

  22. ....RaeDi says:

    Love your photos… and they are not ordinary! Beautiful colors!

  23. I do not even know the way I ended up here, but I assumed this publish was
    great. I don’t recognise who you’re but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger
    when you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

