You can’t make an omelette without eggs…

An omelette, to be satisfying and delicious, requires more than one egg which is all that I had when the idea of an omelette entered my head and was immediately asked to leave. But a single egg, hopefully a singularly good egg, is a full of possibilities as it is with protein. I had been reading Roberto Alborghetti’s blog on accelerated learning, something that would come in very handy for me in nearly any aspect of my life, where I noticed that, according to Chief Cheetah Michelle LaBrosse, proteins improve the entry of important amino acids into the brain, which are used to synthesise neurotransmitters that are critical for clear thinking. Clear thinking is the Grail that I have been seeking with the same total lack of success as Sir Lancelot and all for lack of an egg. Before you could say knife or synthesise neurotransmitters, the lone egg had been released from its confines by Excalibur the Sabatier and then calmly lowered into the shallow simmering water from where it would arise reformed and ready to kick mental ass. The egg is gone and my hopes of an instant insight into accelerated learning are dashed. However, the Blessed Delia’s ( aka Deli Smith) instructions on producing the perfect poached egg seem to have worked so all was not in vain. There is no question that I’ve learned something very rapidly by ingesting that tiny, but delicious, nugget of information. Pace Roberto.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Delia Smith, Eggs, Food photographer, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to You can’t make an omelette without eggs…

  1. ....RaeDi says:

    I now know why my transmitter is not working… I thought it was my synapses’ lapsing! Who would have thought! Now if only I could get my eggs poached like yours, life would be grand… I would work on world peace or why I do not like p&j! Me thinks a visit to Roberto’s and the Blessed Delia’s is in order! Love your words and the photos, it makes me hungry!

  2. Now then, I really should be a lot brainier than I am! A perfectly poached egg, and three cheers for Saint Delia. Hope you got to eat it before it went cold….

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    To think, i could’ve solved the riddle of nuclear fusion years ago for want of an egg or two in the morning. “They” need to get the word out about this. Thanks for doing your part. I’ve got to get cracking.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Beautiful smooth texture on the yolk in both pictures 😉
    I checked the Delia recipe and I see she doesn’t use vinegar, which I applaud. As much as I like all types of vinegar, I strongly dislike vinegar flavoured egg.

  5. Hmmm.. I need to get over to that blog post asap.. I made only half the bed today!! Not sure where my mind wandered to, but my poor hubby thought it was some sort of hint!! I would laugh but now am wondering where my brains have gone… Great and perfect poached egg today!!

  6. Nothing like yolk dripping down on toast. I hate when I overcook them!

  7. You can’t beat the perfect egg (no pun intended), even a solitary one!

  8. spree says:

    For lack of anything clever to add, I’ll just compliment you on the beauty of your eggs. What lovely light! And what a gorgeous photo. How could an oozing egg be prettier than that?

  9. Michelle says:

    Just wondering why it is that, when our chicken flock was wiped out this week by coyote attack, all the best blog posts are involving egg dishes?! My neurotransmitters are deprived, but I do know that those photos are gorgeous!

  10. Cara Hobday says:

    Eggs – cellent image! Your writing and images make me smile every day, thank you Roger!

  11. That is a perfectly poached egg. Kudos.

  12. ceciliag says:

    Oh yeah..The just heavy runny yolk, the melting butter on the hot slice of perfect toast.. you know what? I have just come in from my morning chores but I am going to go back down the loft ladder RIGHT NOW and make a poached egg. Maybe two, as I Do, Have Two. Actually I collect around a dozen a day so.. I actually have more than Two! Good morning.. c

  13. katyarich says:

    I just can’t leave without eggs and this one is just perfect….!!!:)

Leave a Reply

