Apricot jam on toasted brioche brings warmth to chilled bones…

The last few days have been filled with the hiss and hideous hum of power tools which the rays of the winter sun confirm by clearly delineating the sawdust filled atmosphere of the house. I would be delighted if I could sprinkle a dessert with a perfectly even layer of icing sugar with the same proficiency as a circular saw can coat with sawdust an entire dwelling, even through closed doors. This has meant that only cooking of the most rudimentary sort has taken place and photography has ground to halt which is why tea time reminded me of the power of soft yellow brioche, combined with summer reminiscent apricot jam, to render impotent the chill of winter in a stone house. To fully defeat the icy blast, brioche needs to be toasted and to my mind no toaster can hold a candle to a grill which is an unfortunate, but nonetheless jolly, metaphor. Where did the eye level gas grill go, and who in God’s name thought that crouching and peering at a red hot electric element through the window of the now ubiquitous fitted oven could replace the pleasure of watching toast, or in this case brioche, slowly browning to your exact specifications, under fierce and understandable fire with the addition of the mouthwatering pleasure created by the delicious vanilla perfume emanating from the seared brioche? Brioche, though made with mountains of butter, demands a further anointing before the addition of apricot jam. It is wise to keep to keep a small covered dish of butter, out of the fridge, ready for such seasonal emergencies. This prevision ensures that the butter melts on contact with the now golden brown brioche, providing a suitably luxurious surface for the spoonful of fruit filled, translucently gloopy apricot jam. Alternate mouthfuls of good coffee and jam topped brioche have done the job – here comes the sun.

This is based on an excerpt of my book “Simply Fed” which is now available from Blurb.com in ebook format for iPad and iPhone at 5.49€

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Apricot jam, apricots, Brioche, Food and Photography, Food photographer, photography course, Photography holiday, Toast, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Apricot jam on toasted brioche brings warmth to chilled bones…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Yum and lovely warm picture too! I’m with you – why did I leave that gas cooker with eye level grill behind in 1991? Mmm, maybe it just didn’t fit in my suitcase bound for Spain – shame 😉

  2. What a great picture. And good to hear your book is in electronic format now.

  3. Oh those grills – my mum had a New World Cooker as a wedding gift with a flip down gas grill and (20 years on) it still made the best cheese on toast! Have to say, if I had to choose my favourite ever jam, apricot would win 🙂

  4. I looked at the preview of your book. Gorgeous!

  5. spree says:

    Oh that is heaven in hand!

  6. you’ve made me hungry – luckly I have some homemade apricot jam, sadly no brioche only simple toast!

  7. I like the golden hues of the photo. I wish my mornings looked like that.

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    You’ve captured such a warm glow, creating one beautiful photo, Roger. Your circular saw remarks remind me of having my kitchen floor sanded a few years ago. I’ll move before I endure the aftermath of that again.

  9. Tandy says:

    I love brioche with a black cherry jam 🙂

  10. I am going to force Hubby to read your lament…he’s been talking about replacing our beloved commercial range with some fluffy-looking consumer version. I want to keep my Southbend, mostly for the pullout grill.
    Lovely photo…I have blueberry jam to bring summer into the kitchen.

  11. peasepudding says:

    I love that beautiful warm light. Just trying to download you ebook now!

  12. hotlyspiced says:

    Congrats on your e-book. Your jam on toast looks very comforting.

  13. Oh, dear, I have the oven, the jam, the butter, but alas, no brioche and no copy of your book.. I’m going to take a look over at blurb. Never been there! Very exciting that you’ve got a book published. I love you writing!

  14. alex says:

    My bones are chilled too – and I am dying for some light, some proper spring light to chase away these february blues. Although something toasty and jammy like this could do the job too, I love the way you describe the apricot jam as a taste of summer. Even in the middle of winter you can have summer from a jar.

  15. ....RaeDi says:

    Your words were as true as your photography!

Leave a Reply

