On the trail of the lonesome whine…..

Well there’s no doubt that to speak or not to speak Gaelic certainly pisses off a lot of people, which seemed like a good reason to go and hide in the woods. The snow, which had not been predicted by MeteoFrance, was falling fast and I felt that I needed to get away from outraged of Inversomewhere. Hunting pictures is as far as I go in the blood sports arena ( which statement will probably enrage another group of armed folk, hell bent on preserving a bloody tradition ) but the pictures that I was hunting seemed to be hiding themselves behind that impenetrable camouflage that covers the eye of the searcher rather than the pelt of the searched. That camouflage is called distraction. I was distracted by the ease at which humans can become enraged over trivia when there are so many far more deserving issues with which to fuel their rage. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, friendship, Photography, photography course, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to On the trail of the lonesome whine…..

  1. John Harvey says:

    absolutely agree. Like many things, rage seems to have been dumbed down. Language is for communicating, not wearing as a symbol of fading collective pride.

  2. Hi Roger! I nominated you for a Sunshine Award. Hope you can check out the list of things to do on my post and enjoy the award. You inspire us all.

  3. Dick Polak says:

    is it yet another case of not seeing the wood for the trees ?

  4. Dick Polak says:

    PS nice pictures of the wood !

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Watch out for the Gaelic hunters, when you are out there hiding in the woods!

  6. Roger, we live in an age where people are wanting to take offence. Every group, Muslims, Catholics, Protestants, left wing, right wing, rich, poor, farmers, city dwellers, fox hunters, pacifists….. Everybody wants to be pissed at something or somebody. Pissed about speaking Gaelic? Why not? What else is there if there is no point being pissed about the English. Me? I’m pissed at people texting when they are walking on the same footpath I’m occupying.

  7. Rachel says:

    I’m intrigued (as usual) by your thoughts and delighted (as usual) by your photos… mmmhmmm…

  8. There are benefits to getting Lost in the Woods…
    Like these photos.
    If the second one doesn’t cool ’em off, nothing will.
    Happy (Photo) Hunting.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I couldn’t disagree more and this post really pisses me off!

    Nope. I don’t feel any better than I did before making that statement. My thesis proved false. Now THAT pisses me off.

    Nope, still no better. Screw ’em. That’s better.

  10. Hahaha, I’m with John on that one. I adore your photos… particularly the last one.

  11. I don’t really have an opinion on Gaelic, but I am an American and we generally only speak one language. Some might say poorly to boot. Anyway, I do love the photos and am glad we don’t have snow here. I have strong opinions on how horrible drivers are at coping with it.

  12. spree says:

    Life’s far too short to spend it angry. (Cliche.) Life’s also far too l o n g for misery such as that. Really love that second photo Roger!

  13. katyarich says:

    very beautiful pictures!!!!

  14. That second shot is of a path that absolutely *demands* to be explored! How alluring.

  15. The second photo seems haunting, almost too quiet somehow. I like it!

Leave a Reply

