A tart reply….

I’ve been busy making enemies – I think – over dialects and languages spoken between very small groups of people.  I love language in all its amazing forms, but I cannot, for the life of me, see the point in teaching Gaelic as a first language to a child living in an English speaking country in the 21st century. Tradition and customs are wonderful things to be treasured but recognised as things of the past – our history, not our present. Nationalism and religious prejudice seem to be the stumbling blocks which prevent the creation of a larger, peaceful society whereas lemon tart with creme fraiche does quite a lot to bring a smile to friends’ faces.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, desserts, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, photography course, tart, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A tart reply….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’d say that lemon tart and crème fraîche could avert world wars if there were enough of it 😉
    Especially that one!

  2. Pete Denton says:

    God, that looks great.

  3. Ooh, the cream alone is enough to silence the debate for at least a few minutes. Delicious!

  4. peasepudding says:

    Let’s all eat lemon tart for a better and happier world :0)

  5. Oh, that creme fraiche would smooth anything over for certain!! YUM!!

  6. Dick Polak says:

    Tarts of the World unite !

  7. andylmoore says:

    Love the intro! And 100% agree. Love lemon tart too.

  8. Tandy says:

    *sends empty plate over for a slice*

  9. The tart looks wonderful but I can’t agree with you about language. Nationalism and religious prejudice, yes, both are dangerous. Minority languages are not and they are very much part of many people’s present as well as history. My own children grew up bilingual in Welsh and English (and now my daughter is fluent in French and Spanish too, using all four in her work, and my son speaks French) and I know children here who are growing up bilingual in Occitan and French. Bilingualism, and it is always that because the ‘majority’ language is all around them and they learn it anyway, opens up the mind in ways that monolingualism often doesn’t, opens it to an appreciation of diversity which is the enemy of nationalism and religious prejudice. I hope you don’t feel now that I’m your enemy – I don’t feel that you are mine – but it is something I feel very strongly about.

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Would that you ruled the World, my Friend.

  11. I am smiling, grinning from ear to ear. It must be the cheshire cat in me …just love tarte au citron et la crème

  12. Catriona NicLeòid says:

    Of course you can’t “see the point in teaching Gaelic…”. It’s not your tradition. Gaelic has been spoken in Scotland for over 1500 years. I’m sorry that you prefer to think of this very old language and tradition as a tiresome anachronism. Hope Gaelic doesn’t inconvenience your life too much.

Leave a Reply

