King Henry versus Colonel Sanders…

King Henri IV of France promised the people of France a chicken in the pot every Sunday, which would not have impressed Colonel Sanders, nor did it prevent him from flooding the world with the nightmarish result of millions of debeaked, de-everythinged battery birds. Nevertheless I’m happier with a simple Coq au Vin made from a “label rouge” bird rather than a party bucket of horridness from the dear Colonel. This is a wonderful simple recipe from the “The French Kitchen” by Joanne Harris and Fran Warde.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cookery Writers, coq au vin, Fran Warde, Recipes, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to King Henry versus Colonel Sanders…

  1. Hear, hear! And as for that cunning Julius Caesar…got to love the Romans for their dedication to cooking 🙂

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I’m drinking to King Henri IV, though I notice that supermarkets and fast food seem to be winning in France 😦
    Good job the British are colonising the place in order to maintain French tradition 😉

  3. Best coq au vin I ever ate was in Volnay… They use roosters, and lees from the wine casks. I don’t think I’ll ever order it again anywhere else, because nothing will ever live up to that taste memory…

    Love the photo – the light looks wintery. Perfect for the coq!

  4. That is a masterpiece! It must have tasted wonderful.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I will be making this, and soon, Roger. Years ago I had recipes for coq au vin and for chicken fricassee. They were both delicious and very well-received. As you’ve probably figured out, I lost both recipes and have been searching for suitable replacements far longer than I care to admit. If this is as good as I think it is, you’ve done me a tremendous favor. Thanks!

  6. This looks wonderful. I’m a republican rather than a royalist and also anti-military, but I’ll have to side with King Henry on this. There was a proper farm ‘coq’ complete with comb on a stall yesterday at Clermont l’Herault market….photo in my slideshow. I wish I’d bought it now!

  7. Chef Scar says:

    Roger, Great picture and sounds delicious and much less complicated than Julia’s recipe. I can’t wait to give it a try. Thanks to Henri and you!

  8. I really need to make this. Yours looks astoundingly good. OK, I’m not astounded really you always make great looking stuff.

  9. ....RaeDi says:

    Roger, if I have a choice this is what I want for dinner! The photo and chicken both speak to me! Just lovely….RaeDi

  10. Tandy says:

    I could think of nothing worse than Colonel chicken or the likes once a week! Nothing beats home made 🙂

  11. spree says:

    Genius notion of making peace by way of deeply-satisfied bellies and smacking lips. This dish has what it takes for men to drop their weapons and pick up their forks! The most luscious Coq au Vin I’ve ever seen I think! Simple, and simply beautiful Roger.

  12. I have an urge to make coq au vin everytime I see Ina Garten make one. Now you have renewed that urge.

  13. Excellent! A curtsy to King Henry and a pox on the Colonel’s chicken. Even being a Kentuckian I cannot eat his chicken!

  14. Gorgeous looking as well as full of Favorite Ingredients! I’d pass up the faux-Colonel any time for this goodness. 🙂

  15. gorgeous looking dish. No comparison what so ever to slimy chicken in a bucket.

  16. Hotly Spiced says:

    I love Coq au Vin. Such a wonderful warming meal. Great recipe although for the size of my family I’d have to use a much bigger chicken.

  17. ceciliag says:

    They say it tastes better with one of this years roosters, ‘Hmm, she thinks casting her eye over the screechiness in the barnyard’. I hope you have a great trip away and get some rest now! No place like home i think! c

  18. losangelas says:

    Even though I stopped eating meat, partly because of the reason described by you. Nevertheless sometimes I feel weak, looking at your dish, I feel graving for chicken!

Leave a Reply

