In praise of televisual pisswater….

Some members of the Coren family, namely Alan, Giles and Victoria have made, and do make, me laugh loudly often. I blame the Cricklewood tales in the Times for making me stop taking public transport. Holding back extreme laughter to the point of spitting and crying did not endear me to fellow rush hour passengers in the cattle trucks, which passed for trains in the late 80’s, and which did anything but rush me to Waterloo. Had Blücher opted for that option I wouldn’t have had to move to France; it would have moved to me. Gile’s succinct description of the Downton Abbey Christmas special as”Televisual pisswater…” got the spitting and crying going again. I just loved the words. I wasn’t sure about the truth of the criticism until I saw the episode a couple of nights ago. For me it was more like “Televisual gripewater”. I’d felt quite poorly all over Christmas owing a perfectly timed seasonal horridness that made me rheumy eyed and tetchy. There are those who would suggest that I have this virus each time they see me and they can fuck off. The aptness of his description, or at least my version, was that anything more mentally taxing would have had me lying in a darkened room with a bottle of laudanum, which the author of the piece has certainly never done as it might have kick started his imagination rather than jolted his memory of a wonderfully privileged jeunesse d’orée that would have had the tumbrils rolling anew down to the Place de la Concorde for a short back and sides. However, the bile has been removed, and I feel a lot better today. So much so that this afternoon I painstakingly made the most delicious Mushroom Risotto with dried ceps  from Anna del Conte’s “The Classic Food of Northern Italy” – a wonderful cookery book by one the most outstanding Italian cookery writers of our time, with the added benefit of being illustrated by my photography.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in ceps, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Italian food, Parmigiana Reggiano, Photography holiday, Risotto, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to In praise of televisual pisswater….

  1. I’m glad you felt well enough to make the risotto. Beautiful!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent looking risotto!
    You and Giles are right about the TV, though it was all “Pisswater”! Morcambe and Wise are great, but the BBC seems to have decided that we’ll be very happy watching 30 year old TV in place of any good new stuff. Fortunately, I’d got some films to watch, otherwise I’d have been reading throughout the Christmas period.
    There’s one serious thing wrong with Giles – he never learn’t to eat with his mouth closed – it’s very off putting 😉

  3. I just figured that was one of your phrases. The risotto looks wonderful.

  4. Lovely Mushroom Risotto, on eof my favourite all time dishes.
    I always reserve the liquid the dried mushrooms have been soaking in, and add this too, there was no mention of this and it would be such a shame to waste this delicious liquid.
    A classic dish, love it.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  5. joshuafagans says:

    Wonderful photo (again!), love the cheese prop! Also, love the idea of porcini risotto!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Now that is one handsome dish of risotto! Love that the porcini are diced to rice-size. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better, Roger, and hope you’ll be back to your old self in no time!

  7. Tandy says:

    I wish you an amazing 2012! Thanks for the invite to linkedin but I deleted my account as I never go there 🙂 I am on facebook!

  8. It looks wonderful and that rugged block of Parmigiano does too.

  9. ....RaeDi says:

    Again, lovely picture… one can hope and know that it can happen in a simple click or two! The dribble on television seems to get worst with time… it needs a professional fix, although we had a plumber in a few weeks ago and it costs us our merriment monies for the next few months, but nice not to have the dribble from the sink any longer! Books… I love books!

  10. A good risotto is always restoring, especially a tasty looking one such is this.

  11. spree says:

    Oh man does this good wonderful! I’ll be trying this Roger in the next week or so.

  12. Sounds earthy, rich and madly delicious.

Leave a Reply

