What’s good for the goose is good for the foie gras…

Christmas Eve is big potatoes to me. I’m at home in the steamy atmosphere of cooking and drinking – I find it hard to believe that there are those amongst us who believe that I cannot multi task. Drink and cook, cook and drink, drook and crink, no problem. Foie gras and oysters are an important part of Christmas for me, in fact they’re equally important throughout the year but as this is a festive missive they get bigged up more than usual. I have a particular culinary irritation, or maybe bibulous would be more correct, in that I can  never find a family member who enjoys dessert wines, and as France produces quite a lot of these wonders, my irritation grows annually. Tonight we shall be eating foie gras, and I have memories of a great Sauternes jelly that I once enjoyed with this extravagant dish. There, in the wine chiller, was a bottle of Jurancon moelleux begging to spend Christmas with the family so I’ve kindly converted it, in my role as the good fairy ( which I try to keep quiet about but too late now) into a delicious jelly to accompany the foie gras. 

Ingredients

  • 10  leaves gelatine or 2½ sachets powdered gelatine
  • 750 ml sweet dessert wine
  • 15 mls fresh lemon juice, strained
  • 55 gram(s) caster sugar

Method

  1. Soak the gelatine in half of the wine and all the lemon juice for a few minutes, until it is soft.
  2. Add the sugar and heat gently, without allowing it to boil, stirring until the sugar and the gelatine have dissolved completely. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.
  3. Stir in the remaining wine. Pour the jelly into glasses or a mould and leave it to set in a cool place. For a special touch, fragments of gold or silver leaf suspended in clear jelly create a dramatic effect. Buy the leaf in loose-leaf (not transfer) form and stir it into the jelly when it is cool and about to set – the stirring action will break it into pieces. Use 3 leaves for 500ml liquid.
About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Dessert wines, Foie Gras, Food and Photography, oysters, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to What’s good for the goose is good for the foie gras…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’d drink the wine, but that picture of the jelly does looks beautiful 😉

  2. I’ll happily join you for a glass of dessert wine ! and a Sauterne, lucky you

  3. Really? It’s THAT easy? Wow…
    Although, Hubby would have a fit if I used his Sauterne…maybe a California instead…
    Love the warmth of both those photos…Merry Christmas to all of you!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    This is the 3rd post that I’ve read this morning and already I’ve learned something. You’re a good fairy! Who knew?

    The photos that accompany this delicious post are beautiful, Roger. I hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas.

  5. Christmas Eve is a big day for me as well. Thanks for all of your entertaining and informative posts, we enjoy them here Across The Pond! Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

  6. My Christmas began last night when my kids arrived! All is well! Love your photos and the jelly – might have to try that! Merry Christmas – enjoy!

  7. Karen says:

    A beautiful photo of a great accompaniment to your foie gras. I hope you have a splendid Christmas with your family.

  8. The jelly is fantastic and I would gladly enjoy it with some beautiful foie gras!

  9. The jelly looks beautiful and I can imagine how well it will go with the foie gras. It’s lucky you live in France where oysters and foie gras are normal fare for Christmas…..and so many other occasions! Yes, I know, I feel the same about both and would answer: not so much luck as good planning. Enjoy it all and have a lovely Christmas!

  10. How wonderful – I would drink the wine and the eat the foie gras (we´re having the same tomorrow, alas our wine will not be as special as yours 😦 ) Have a fabulous Christmas!

  11. We had our big potatoes dinner last night because of work schedules. I always love Christmas Eve dinner. This looks fabulous. Have a great Christmas.

  12. Merry Christmas Roger. I’ll take the oysters and then dessert wine for later.! Beautiful shot of the jelly… and the bottle.

  13. ceciliag says:

    I love dessert wine, we call them stickies. Almost impossible to find out here. I save dessert wine for NZ. This jelly looks very sweet, however I was glad to read that you still saved half the bottle for the wee glass (or two).. Not being able to share a favourite wine is like not being able to talk about a book. However the upside is obvious, more for me… oh I mean more for You! of course.. c

  14. joshuafagans says:

    What a fantastic idea. How did it match the foie gras?

Leave a Reply

