Friday night, and Saturday morning

There’s nothing funny here, Roger, I thought. Waking up on Saturday morning in a strange bed to the sound of unfamiliar breathing made me realise that I was the victim of my own unbelievable stupidity. Thinking back, I should have seen it coming. They had been so affectionate, or should I say too affectionate. I had been flattered by their attention and had made the fatal mistake of giving them dinner and spending a long evening with them fooling about on the couch. It needn’t have ended like this – if only I had been stronger. Now here I was, a fool to myself, in bed with two dogs. On the upside, Trigger and Gypsy have been very good about it, and don’t seem to think any the less of me. I gave them breakfast and then they were gone. I had fulfilled my role as guardian of the hounds on our evening of babysitting with the grandchildren save for a few mud and rain filled hours at a nearby stable watching tiny horses going round in circles with even tinier people on their backs. And there we might still have been, transfixed by the monotony of this Lilliputian spectacle, had our daughter not arrived, fresh from a night in the flesh pots of Nantes, to reclaim the baton of responsibility for her girls.

Back at home my mind was filled with thoughts of cake. I don’t have a particularly sweet tooth, in fact as time goes by I appear to have less and less teeth to be sweet, but I do find great pleasure in the making of cakes, when it is going well. I tend to make cakes on the spur of the moment so the recipes have to coincide with the ingredients that are present in the kitchen cupboards at that particular moment. The Moro cook book is amongst my favourites but, as the recipes often demand quite obscure Moroccan or Spanish ingredients, I have to adapt. In this case the recipe demanded a tart apricot paste which could be replaced by a confection created from the dried apricots that I was sure that I had but didn’t. The cake, a chocolate and apricot tart, worked out wonderfully by replacing the apricot past with a sharp apricot conserve. The picture is remarkable in that it was the only one that I took. The tart is incredibly soft and moist when it is removed from the oven and I had created the still life set up beforehand so that I could shoot a picture quickly. In fact the cake fell off the spatula immediately after this shot, ending any thought of a second chance. Here’s the recipe:

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in apricots, Baking, Chocolate, Cooking, desserts, Food and Photography, Moro Restaurant and Cookbook, photography course, tart, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Friday night, and Saturday morning

  1. That looks very good, Roger.

  2. bittercharm says:

    Amazing… please share the recipe too..

  3. Mad Dog says:

    It looks beautiful. Sometimes I wish I could go back 25 years and have a home economist on hand with multiple dishes in case one was quite perfect… but then it wouldn’t be the food I was about to eat 😉

  4. Is there any left for breakfast?

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Well done, Roger! I’ve never thought to combine chocolate with apricot. Had I known something like this was possible, I would have tried it ages ago.

  6. What a different idea to make a chocolate and apricot jam tart. I’m so used to seeing it with raspberry.

  7. What a night, this looks incredible!

  8. I love that first paragraph – could be the start of an American Gumshoe type novel! And as for that shot – you caught it just at that perfect moment with a gorgeous luscious (notice I didn´t say “moist” as I know you don´t like that word!) droplet about to slide seductively down. Mmmmmm…

  9. I wish I could cook on the spur of the moment and come up with something as delectable at this. Great shot too! Only a pro could master it in ONE shot!

  10. Tandy says:

    yum! I just love your photo’s and the words you use – your story’s make me smile 🙂

  11. What a tart! Love the chocolate and apricots!

  12. spree says:

    I have just the dried apricots, just the right chocolate, and just the perfect slippery spatula for this to slide off of and into just the right mouth! 😉 Sounds fabulous!

Leave a Reply

