Great expectations….

As the November sun started to sink below the horizon our infallible Tomtom ( a good example of an oxymoron) was guiding us down unmade tracks that the French laughingly call the D772 or some such euphemistic title. Whilst Jenny and I were absorbing the beauty of endless Poitou countryside the shock absorbers were absorbing shocks which, after all, is their job. The shocks they were absorbing were as endless as the countryside which we were admiring and about which they were complaining, but their complaints fell on deaf ears. The world looked wonderful and I had no time for grumbling shockers or shocking grumblers. I’m sure we’ll pay for ignoring them soon, but not on that day. We arrived at our destination, the home of Mary Cadogan  and her husband Mick,  in the beautiful village of Montignac Charente just as day gave way to night. The transition from the fragile, mobile cocoon of a car to the thick stone walled, oak log fire warmed intimacy of their house was a welcome one, particularly as this house is always filled with delicious things to eat and drink as well as delicious friends. It was to be an evening of reminiscing over the year which is on the verge of passing, but by the end of that evening we had hammered out a plan for next year that has left me believing, as Pip did, “that I/we have great expectations”. More of that over the next few weeks. Each time that I leave Mick and Mary’s house I feel that I need a bigger car to accommodate the fabulous produce that she packs into a surprise goody bag This time the peppers, chillies and aubergines were the stars although the preserves look special amongst which is a jar of Chilli Jam for which I am planning a good use, as yet undecided.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, fireplace, Food and Photography, harmony, Mary Cadogan, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Great expectations….

  1. Mick Rogers says:

    I’ve been meaning to have a word with you about that, Roger. Lovely as it was to see you and Jenny , as always, what may to some be ‘a surprise goody bag’ might also be to others ‘illicitly stolen contraband’. Mary makes all sorts of delicious chutneys, jams, jellies, etc, only for jars of them to disappear as soon as M et Mde Stowell pay a visit. I know what will happen. By around June or July next year, just when I really fancy cheese and chutney, or a dollop of jam with my croissant, THERE WILL BE NONE LEFT.
    Beautiful photo, Rog, as ever.
    Mick

  2. Mary Cadogan says:

    My husband Mick is a very bitter man and it doesn’t become him.
    The pic of my garden produce was wonderful Roger.

  3. that’s a beautiful photo with such strong colours.

  4. Love Mary Cadogan´s recipes and I chuckled at the banter above between her and her husband. Seems like Mary has the same problem as I do with people going home with bags full of pickles and chutneys!

  5. Beautiful shot of beautiful produce, especially those little purple aubergines. Nice friends to have…even if they do argue after you’ve left! And a tantalising hint about your plans for next year….

  6. You always seem to find the cutest vegetables. Great pictures!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Oh, Roger! The aubergines. They are perfection exemplified. Great post, beautiful photos, and I loved the banter of your friends within the comments.

  8. Beautiful images on your blog.

  9. Karen says:

    Whether a gift or whisked away in the darkness of night, I sure the bag of goodies will be greatly enjoyed. I’m looking forward to next year’s adventure.

  10. Beautiful photos – and beautiful friends! I’m sure it was a most enjoyable evening!

  11. Two glorious photos. Like gems.Much enjoyed. Thankyou

  12. Those eggplants and peppers look like the stuff of food dreams….

Leave a Reply

