A look at the fruit that started all the trouble….

On account of our adopted “heure de souper”, I find that I shoot less cooked dishes during the winter months owing to the early fading of daylight. The advantage of this is that I have more time, and inclination, to shoot still life pictures. Simple raw ingredients are an infinite source of imagery, and I get to eat them afterwards. Apples have always been a subject for still life painters and photographers. There is a simplicity to the form, as with an egg, that belies the complexity of their colours, patterns, textures and subtle changes of shape. Because we are accustomed to them being around us we don’t see them. We look at them and we hold them, but we don’t see them. Seeing is understanding and to see involves more than looking. The most useful asset that I gained from my slightly pointless years at art school was being made aware of that fact, and my time in France has been spent trying to see the world around me more clearly than I had before. Even if I don’t succeed in finding that clarity I still enjoy the pleasure of trying, and every now and then I get a peek through the clouds.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Food and Photography, harmony, photography course, Still life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A look at the fruit that started all the trouble….

  1. And this is definitely a peek through the clouds…quite beautiful, so still, so perfect, but so real. I’m tempted even though I don’t much like apples! I hadn’t thought that these dark evenings, which I hate, could turn into such an advantage.

  2. Chef Scar says:

    Wonderful photograph!

  3. Perfect – and congrats too to whoever peeled…..!

  4. It is true that the light is gone earlier now, so is much more difficult to get a good shot. This is a great photograph.
    Thanks Roger.

  5. That’s a good looking apple and a wonderful nod to Proust in ” having new eyes”. Thanks for sharing this – it’s always good to be reminded of the everyday beauty all around us 🙂

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    And today you parted the clouds a bit for us. Thank you for that, Roger.

  7. Karen says:

    Something so simple can teach us so much. I just used a green apple to test for lighting. It is dark here by four so I have no natural light for food shots. I’m thrilled that you can see them at all.

  8. Rachel says:

    I love this apple — almost too pretty to make into a gallette (almost, but not quite…) Mmmm…

  9. ceciliag says:

    Very well put, often we do not see, though we spend a lot of time blankly staring (or is that age) what is that old saying “Can’t see the wood for the trees!” Though i have always wondered whether there is a subtly altruistic message there too. Will they chop down the trees when they see the wood?.. c

  10. I am reminded of the pleasures of shopping at the fruit and vegetable market this morning. Pleasure in the produce makes the task of shopping, bearable.

Leave a Reply

