In reply to the call for chocolate…

Today has involved creative work of a different kind. Jenny and I have been dismantling perfectly nice pieces of old furniture and distressing them. I’ve never thought of getting rid of stress by distressing something else. Destressed by distress is an interesting concept, but it’s certainly worked. The November sun has dutifully shone down on our labours and our furniture seems to thrive on distress as there is no doubt that the pieces are looking a lot better. Paints and varnishes needed to dry and at that point I heard, or felt, that distinct call for chocolate. Jamie Oliver has a very simple Chocolate Fudge cake in his book “The Ministry of Food”. I had no fudge, so this is just a very wet and delicious chocolate cake that was made in about 35 minutes from start to finish – that’s a good cake idea, which has made me even more destressed than I was when making our furniture miserable.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, cake, Chocolate, Food and Photography, Jamie Oliver, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In reply to the call for chocolate…

  1. you’ve made a grown woman drool !

  2. As soon as I saw your photo I started craving chocolate – your mission has been accomplished!

  3. I love the molten look of the cake’s insides. That’s a great reward after distressing furniture!

  4. Sanding, scraping, and stripping away layers from furniture is good therapy. So is that fantastic chocolate cake. I do love a good piece of chocolate, and always turn to Nigella Lawson’s Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake from How to Be a Domestic Goddess. It’s perfectly moist and saggy and great with a cup of tea.

  5. Clever with the photos and clever with the words!

  6. Karen says:

    Yummy looking, moist and crunchy. What a wonderful way to finish a destressing, distressing day.

  7. It looks amazing. All the best chocolate things are wet and moist 😀

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I, too, bake an Oliver cake that gets rave reviews whenever it’s served. This one looks every bit as good, if not better, than the one I’ve baked. “… making our furniture miserable.” Priceless.

  9. That looks a delightfully gooey way to de-stress. Lovely photo too, of course.

  10. That looks spectacular and a great read too 🙂

  11. I didn’t even know I wanted chocolate until I saw this!

Leave a Reply

