Baby it’s cold outside…..

The chillies from the Palmers – mushroom guides and walnut oil producers of this parish – are a mixed bunch. They’re blowing hot and cold – the chillies that is – but they certainly look cool. I love chillies. They change a recipe so simply and so radically. When cooking with them the question always arises of being judicious or throwing caution to the wind? Chillies can only be used according to mood, and that mood will belong primarily to the cook. Like all beautiful things they can be a source of joy or disappointment, too little is not enough and too much results in pain and disillusioment. Any way, I’m very pleased to have this little bunch in our house. I keep telling myself to put them in the freezer where they will keep well, but then I won’t be able to see them and the longer that I keep procrastinating so they will deteriorate and lose their bloom. So for the moment they will remain at large to give me pleasure and to keep me thinking of how good they could be in this or that, or how I remember a great chilli dish that I once ate and maybe they’ll get used and maybe they won’t  – but they do look great.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in chillies, food, Food and Photography, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby it’s cold outside…..

  1. Wish I could whisk you over here to immortalise my lovely chillies! I love these photos – so vibrant and quirky.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    You are too much, Roger! Leave it to you to look at chilis and see lips. Glad to see proof that your recent troubles haven’t affected your sense of humor.

  3. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I want to take pictures like you!

  4. Karen says:

    Love the chili lips smiling at me. The color is so brilliant.

  5. kiwikar says:

    Haha, I have never seen a hotter photo of lips … oh, the pun! 😀

  6. Fun photos. I recently pulled the last of my peppers, or recently enough I still have them in the fridge.

  7. Excellent shots as ever!!!

  8. great colour! And I so agree about the chills’ ability to transform. Apparatley chilli is addictive – I can believe that!

Leave a Reply

