Whacking a custard pie in the face of a Trojan horse.

I’m raging again. Not only have hackers stuffed my email into their shoplifting basket, but they now appear to have blessed me with the gift of a Trojan horse that has galloped through my hard drives successfully removing 6 years of digital files. The years pass, and although I have been steadily taking pictures since 1968, I now have a record of my work from around yesterday, midday. Many close friends have quietly lectured me on the importance of backing up files and I’ve been unequivocal in telling them all to fuck off. Quis custodiet custodes? – they’re all smoking crack behind the squash courts and it appears their guard is down, or the guards are going down on each other. My anti virus is about as effective as anitpasto. So, let’s start again. Let’s start again with St.Emilion au Chocolat, which I first shot yesterday afternoon but a virus corrupted the files so I couldn’t open them. I’ve just shot it again, and thankfully all the Trojans, worms and viruses appear to be having a Sunday afternoon kip as an image of the delicious pudding duly appeared in Photoshop as opposed to the small grey square in the middle of the screen which informs me that “the computer says no” or that the file is not recognised by anyone anywhere, and am I all right with that – answer “yes” or “no” .

This is a good thing to eat, particularly if you avoid any sort of  conservative approach in the addition of Cognac. I certainly did ignore that approach and my efforts may well have restored the ailing Cognac industry, because it certainly restored my ailing spirits. Here’s the recipe from Nigel Slater’s “must have” book, from 1997, “Real Cooking”.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, cognac, desserts, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Nigel Slater, photography course, Photography holiday, St.Emilion au Chocolat, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Whacking a custard pie in the face of a Trojan horse.

  1. I’m so sorry Roger! Inadequate I know but they can steal your pictures but not your talent, which is apparent in the pictures you just took.

  2. Graham says:

    Oh come on you worldly and worldwide fans of Roger’s blogs. Rally round, someone must know someone who has a friend who knows how to recover files even if they seem to have disappeared. Ask around, find a solution…I’ll give it try.

  3. It must have taken a lot of brandy to get over that, but this St Emilion looks as though it might do the trick….and obviously has done, looking at the photo of the scraped-clean dish. The Trojan thing is a nightmare, though, and I wish there was some solution I could suggest, other than a solution of alcohol in chocolate or in anything else. Are there any other ways you could retrieve your photos – websites where they’ve been posted, for instance?

    • Hi there Thanks for the suggestion. The problem is that all the pictures that I can retrieve in that way are by their very nature low resolution. I need to retrieve the high res. I’m sure something will work out. All the best Roger

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    What a mess! I will, as “Graham” above suggests, check to see if there is anything that can be done to retrieve the data. Where’s a knowledgeable 14-year-old when you need one? Thanks for sharing another great recipe and I hope this is the last of the after-effects from the recent theft.

  5. Oh I hate to hear this and that someone did it deliberately.

  6. No! Sorry to hear about your computer. Your devouring of the entire dish is warranted.

  7. Tandy says:

    all I can say is damn and bugger! *makes note to do a back up*

  8. sorry to hear of your troubles, loved the receipe, will try it next week….
    off to back up my harddrive, like you I haven’t heeded the advise until now………….

  9. Dear Roger, I’m so sorry to hear about that Trojan horse on your computer. It is so hard on a normal PC, but having all your work affected… that must be devastating. But it looks like you are handling it quite fine 🙂
    Good luck!

  10. Karen says:

    Roger, So sorry to hear of this added problem but I do hope that your recovery program gets it all back for you. Here I thought everything was safe in “your vault”. I have my fingers crossed and am sending good wishes your way.

Leave a Reply

