Here’s a good picture of the Ceps that I haven’t got…

I’ve been so busy taking pictures and cooking that I haven’t really thought of posting. There’s a recipe, once again from the pen of Nigel Slater, that I hoped to test this evening. The recipe involved large mushrooms which seemed to me to be a pretty seasonal ingredient, this being Autumn or “Season of Mushrooms”. So far, in the heart of the French countryside, this has not proved to be the case. I’m hoping that tomorrow morning’s market in Fontenay le Comte will be a mushroom cornucopia – fat chance. The time has come to light the fire, open the red and cook some gnocchi with leeks, creme fraiche, mustard and crisp prosciutto devised by Andy Harris of “Jamie” magazine. He’s also got me using Marmite in several unusual ways! I never really liked Marmite but it puts a meaty taste, although it’s a yeast extract, into vegetarian food. It worked very successfully in a vegetarian Cornish pasty that will be anathema to people from Cornwall. Unfortunately my view of Cornish people on this subject is akin to “Doc Martin’s” view of all humanity, so I don’t really give a toss. I have also been dabbling in chocolate -in this particular case it’s a delicious confection called St.Emilion au Chocolat which is in the fridge as I write, getting set for testing tomorrow.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, baking, Ceps, Chocolate, Cornish pasty, creme fraiche, desserts, Digital photography, fireplace, Food and Photography, mushrooms, Nigel Slater, photography course, Photography holiday, Wine, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Here’s a good picture of the Ceps that I haven’t got…

  1. What a great looking pie and a good reminder I still need to make my mom’s gnocchi.

  2. Alli@peasepudding says:

    I crave the forest mushrooms that we used to eat in Germany, so much flavour. We only have what I call boring button mushrooms and field mushrooms here. I’m going try and get some spores and grow my own. Enjoy the gnocchi.

  3. No mushrooms? In the fall, in FRANCE?
    That’s a joke, right?
    Hope your pasty was tasty! (It’s certainly pretty…)

    • Hi there Those who know where to find them in the forest, which does not include ex-townie me, had plenty. Strangely the markets have been bereft of good mushrooms this Autumn, unless they hide them when they see me coming. All the best Roger

  4. I’m all agog to hear more about Andy Harris and his Marmite magic. I use it in gravies and sauces, and make a dish of carrots cooked with marmite and thyme, which came to me via a caribbean friend.

  5. I’m going to try and get a hold of this “Jaime” magazine you keep speaking of. I loved his roasted chicken idea about slathering butter and herbs right underneath the skin of a whole chicken so it would “self-baste” in the oven.

  6. Even in Cornwall they sell vegetarian pasties these days, I think…for the grockles, I suppose! I hope you find some ceps tomorrow, if not, the St Emilion au chocolat sounds as though it may console you.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Your title is absolutely perfect. In the very north of Michigan, they, too, make pasties and one of our neighbors was from that area. Oddly enough, the area is known for its predominantly Finnish population. I’ve often wondered what connection, if any, is there between the pasties of Cornwall and of those of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. Well, related or not, a savory, hand-held pie makes a great lunch.

  8. They do indeed look amazing. It´s the same here – there are a few old boys who “know” their mushrooms and where to find them. But they won´t give up their secrets! Am a huge marmite fan, so your mention of it grabbed my attention.

  9. Karen says:

    The flaky pasty (I do like the sound of that) looks beautiful. There was such a huge amount of all kinds of mushrooms at the markets in Germany and Italy…perhaps some could be brought into the lovely countryside of France. Oh no…I guess the French just want French mushrooms. I’m looking forward to the chocolate confection.

  10. I like the sound of the leeks recipe, suitably autumnal and comforting.
    As for marmite, my favourite is marmite popcorn – make popcorn and then melt butter and marmite together and pour over. Delicious and you can nibble on it at a computer for hours without feeling full.

Leave a Reply

