A Granny William hybrid would help with the 5 a day….

The weekend sun gave me the opportunity to continue with the autumn ritual of putting the garden to bed. Encasing our white wicker armchairs in their waterproof winter covering made me feel that I had only uncovered them such a short time ago. Summer disappeared seemingly unnoticed. “Looking forward”, in retrospect, is a sad waste of living time. How much of our life is spent referring to watches, calendars and diaries for the next event to which we are “looking forward” whilst ignoring the moment? The word “pastime” is perhaps a misnomer, as using our precious time to learn and to produce something personal from that learning makes us more than the sum of our parts. I’m one of those whose “pastimes” are my work, and it doesn’t get better than that.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in apples, Autumn, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Fruit, lifestyle, Pears, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Granny William hybrid would help with the 5 a day….

  1. A man who knows how to enjoy the here and now…good for you. I took my watch off when I moved to Spain and have never worn it since! Incredible photo – very clever indeed.

  2. That is the coolest photo I’ve seen in days…How ever did you make that?

    Oh, and ditto on the watch…I took mine off when I left the market for the last time, and only wear one when I travel – the airlines aren’t too keen on ‘whenever I get there…’

  3. Karen says:

    Hi Roger, A great photo and great thinking combine to make a very interesting fellow.

  4. I love your Photoshop skills on the photo (being a designer myself)! Lovely post as always – to be in the moment is freeing. I don’t wear a watch and rarely know what day it is.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I removed my watch when I became disabled and haven’t worn it since. Time still goes by every bit as fast but I’ve no need to wear a constant reminder. You are, indeed, a lucky man to have your pastimes and work be one and the same. Good for you!

  6. I expect to see these in the produce aisle any day now.

  7. I love living in the moment! Anything and everything is an adventure – while wait till the next day or next week?

Leave a Reply

