What is good for the goose is ….where’s the gander gone?

A bag of goose eggs has recently become part of my larder and although I tweeted loudly, as I imagine the goose did at the moment of their delivery, no one replied to my tweets for “wonderful ideas for goose eggs”. Having spent some time with them I have begun to understand the silence. Eggs, in the end, are eggs. Quails’ eggs make a good effort at being different and clever, but the thought of nibbling at a hard boiled goose egg rolled in celery salt is making me gag. There is something daunting about goose eggs. Even the shell itself is like armour. A firm tap with the egg on the edge of a china mixing bowl is like saying goodbye to your mixing bowl. There will be only one winner in that contest. I hit them, not tapped them, with a big knife and they seemed to open as if on a hinge. At that moment the legend of geese laying golden eggs was clearly illustrated by the colour of the yolk. One of the two eggs that I opened last night made a wonderfully rich version of piperade for two people. The other was used to make frangipane, part of which I used in a very good pear and almond tart. The recipe comes from the pen of Mary Cadogan and is included in her book “Pies and Tarts”. I made a change in that I added a dessertspoon of “Poire William) instead of almond essence.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Almonds, Cookery School in France, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, Eggs, food, Food and Photography, Mary Cadogan, Pear and almond tart, Pears, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Quail eggs, tart, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What is good for the goose is ….where’s the gander gone?

  1. So, how does the flavor compare to standard chicken eggs? Is it much different? They look big enough for single-serving omlettes…

    • Hi there They are certainly much richer. I don’t think I’d like to eat one like a boiled egg – it would be too much. The egg was very good scrambled – I start with a bed of chopped tomatoes that I slowly cook down for about 35 minutes and then I add the egg. The tomatoes need to well seasoned and need to have melted to an intense flavour.I’m going to check them out in a frittata during the week. All the best Roger

  2. Quite daunting to think of cooking them, but great photos. We used to keep ducks and their eggs were too rich for me, but excellent for making cakes.

  3. Very nice photos Roger. The goose eggs not too appealing to me… But, how about some asparagus with scrambled goose eggs?

    Have a nice weekend!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    That is one delicious looking tart, Roger! Love the last shot. Just between you and me. Which broke first: the eggcup or the egg?

  5. Your hotmail account doesn’t seem to work.

  6. I like goose eggs occassionally – they taste almost “gamey” if that is possible! Love that shot of the falling egg….very clever.

  7. Your new e-mail should end with .fr instead of .com

  8. Ooh, impressed by the falling egg photo. Ah, to have a camera that can handle “movement”.

  9. I can only think of goose (duck) egg as being fermented the Chinese way (pidan) which is really tasty especially with tofu, soy sauce, a bit of sesame oil, and coriander.

  10. Great looking tart. I’ve never made anything with goose or quail eggs, but will probably break down and do so one day.

  11. Beautiful tart! I don’t have goose eggs, but fresh chicken eggs from my sister!

  12. Karen says:

    Hi Roger, I have two pears sitting on my counter right now and the Poire William. A tart sans gooses egg sounds delicious. I’m just learning the ins and outs of my computer, my camera and I guess now I’m going to have to find out about photo shop. Clever photo!

Leave a Reply

