Hitting the G spot – with a hammer.

At this moment I have very bad intentions towards all things beginning with the letter G. Today it’s a very, very bad letter that initiates bad words such as grimace, ghastly, gargoyle, grim, gangrenous, gallows, gaol, gagged, garbage, garrulous, garotte, groaning, genocide, ghoulish, gloom, glutton, gnash and, worst of all GOOGLE, bloody GOOGLE.  I had foolishly assumed that I was in control of my activities in hyperspace, and hubris has sent me crashing down, like a contemporary, if aged, Icarus, from the heady and rarefied atmosphere of Gmail to the Ikea of electronic communication, Hotmail. Bereft of contacts, I must learn to create another set of wax wings if I’m ever to soar again in the accursed Googlesphere where all things are possible, or so the silver tongued sales folk assured me as they whispered seductively, in hyper text mark up language, in my ear some 5 or 6 years ago. How did I fall for their honeyed words? They’ll get theirs.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, friendship, harmony, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hitting the G spot – with a hammer.

  1. John Harvey says:

    Maybe distract yourself by visiting a few of Madrid’s excellent museums!

  2. katherine says:

    The title is enough to make me grimace! But I do hope the computer issues get worked out.

  3. Ghastly google, then? Who’d have thought it, rather than horrendous hotmail. I’ve heard of hotmail accounts being hacked but naively thought google was safe. I’ve just saved anything valuable from my account elsewhere. Hope you can sort yours out.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    So sorry, Roger, to learn of this — first-hand, no less; I received a plea for money. Hang in there. I hope the effects are neither severe nor long-lasting.

  5. Graham says:

    And if King Edward be as true and just
    As I am subtle, false and treacherous,
    This day should Clarence closely be mew’d up,
    About a prophecy, which says that ‘G’
    Of Edward’s heirs the murderer shall be.
    Dive, thoughts, down to my soul: here
    Clarence comes.

    Richard III

    (substitue names as you wish)

  6. Oh my. The title alone was rather jarring.

  7. Karen says:

    The dastardly “G”. I do hope everything is sorted out soon. It’s one thing if it happens on a site that is purely for pleasure but when it involves your career it is really bad.

    • Hi there Thanks for that. It is such a pain to lose so many years of contacts, and to have to keep wondering what passwords or what information they will find in 5 years of emails. I think the only way up is to start over. All the best Roger

Leave a Reply

