Temple balls or how I foolishly drove out the money lenders

I don’t know what the money lenders were up to in the temple that got Him so irate, apart from lending money which has become humanity’s most important activity in the post biblical world. He might have been wiser to have had a quiet word with the money lenders, sent them to work in the City and installed an ATM in the Temple. Temples are on my mind as I haven’t been treating my body as one for several days now. There are no money lenders in my temple and if there were I wouldn’t be driving them out, I’d be begging for a piece of the action. That which is in my temple is not fiscal, it is vinous. Instead of money lenders there are rows of grape tramplers determined to sink the temple under a tsunami of Cotes de Rhone. My synapses were awash with fermented grape juice and the grape tramplers had to be driven out. The WMD that I chose to end their tyrannical reign was leek and potato soup together with nil by mouth, or nil from the mouth of a wine bottle. I can’t see this as a long lasting discipline but my synapses seem to be megaflopping, if that’s what they do, at a rate that allows me to string more than two words together without getting dizzy from the effort. With the weekend looming, I fear the grape tramplers may well be lurking just outside the temple door.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cotes de Rhone, food, Food and Photography, grapes, Leek and potato soup, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Soup, Wine, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Temple balls or how I foolishly drove out the money lenders

  1. Beautiful soup, beautiful bowl! Poor temple.

  2. good to have a dry spell before the excess of Christmas! Serves you right for living in a country with wonderful wine.

  3. Lovely bowl…hope the ‘renovations’ on the temple go as planned!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Beautiful soup bowl! I applaud your renovation efforts. My temple isn’t in need of renovation as much as it needs to stop its expansion or this will truly be the Winter of My Discontent.

  5. This weekend is dedicated to starting a body cleansing in preparation of the gluttony that will occur over Thanksgiving weekend. Your own ‘renovation’ contributed to my motivation!

  6. I hope you can finish the soup before they break down the door.

  7. Very clever – hope the Temple is feeling refreshed!

  8. i really like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

  9. rumpydog says:

    I need to throw more than just money-lenders out. But maybe later.

Leave a Reply

