Would Joan of Arc have chosen the quiche or the stake?

The word “quiche” is a member of that exclusive band of locutions, such as “gorgeous” and “toilet”, that I do my utmost never to employ. Defined as “a rich unsweetened custard pie…”, the quiche has little to live up to, and attains those heights regularly. Tart defines delicious things in a pastry case very well, so goodbye “quiche”. La Lorraine, the blessed Joan that perfidious Albion toasted, would not have been delighted having a tart named after her, but history can be cruel. Richard the Lion Heart fared better, as he may well have been remembered as Richard the Gay Crusader, but we must return to tarts of a pastry base rather than feet of clay. Egg and bacon tart conjures up higher expectations of deliciousness than Quiche Lorraine could ever manage. Quiche is a damp afternoon in an overpriced and silent Cotswold teashop, whilst egg and bacon tart is filled with the promise of an ideal taste combination rather than the threat of a “a rich unsweetened custard pie.” There was some good spinach in the kitchen when I started to cook so it was added to the ingredients. Egg, bacon and spinach tart demands quality and simplicity. Two good eggs are beaten with cream and seasoning, to which is added a handful of crumbled, crisp Prosciutto and a couple of spoonfuls of butter cooked spinach. This beautiful looking mixture is poured into a shortcrust tart, that has benefited from the addition of some grated Parmesan, and is cooked in a hot oven for around 30 minutes. Leave the tart to cool until the filling is completely set and serve with a mixture of green leaves with a walnut oil dressing. I should mention that prints of my pictures, from this post and from all my previous posts, are available for purchase. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in bacon and spinach tart, baking, Cooking, creme fraiche, Digital photography, Egg, Egg and bacon tart, food, Food and Photography, France, Parmigiana Reggiano, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Prosciutto, quiche, Quiche Lorraine, spinach, tart. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Would Joan of Arc have chosen the quiche or the stake?

  1. This sounds very good with the prosciutto and spinach.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never thought to add prosciutto to any quiche that I’ve made and, for the life of me, I cannot figure out why that is. Thank you for the inspiration. As for your Joan of Arc question, I know little about the French psyche in such matters. Were we talking about Santa Giovanna, however, she would have surely chosen bruschetta.

  3. ‘Tart’ or ‘flan’ are my preferred choice, although in this area and in Spain ‘flan’ is a egg custard dessert without pastry, which is confusing. I usually add a little Parmesan too, and prosciutto sounds a tasty alternative to bacon.

  4. Good grief that looks good. I just made a quiche recently and did a regular pie crust. I like the shortbread version.

  5. Here in Spain it would be a “pastel” – whatever you call it, looks amazing!

  6. Oh, now I’m mortified. I think I’ve used the word ‘gorgeous’ to describe your photos. Mortified!

Leave a Reply

