Are clairvoyant chimney sweeps to be believed?

The cooler edge in this morning’s temperature makes me feel that I haven’t taken full pleasure in the heat of the last few days. Regret is a constant, whilst fulfilment is transient. The chimney sweep arrived early this morning to confirm the arrival of Autumn. As he swept he mentioned that it was rumoured that we could expect extremely high temperatures at the end of October. I’m not sure whether he was alluding to the heat that we would enjoy on account of the now pristine flue, or whether he had just put back in his pocket the piece of seaweed with which he foretells future weather conditions. Seaweed and satellite seem to be on a par in my experience. The departure of the clairvoyant meteorological ramoneur coincided with the arrival of a dense cloud, not of soot, but of the kind that obscures the sun.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Digital photography, fireplace, Food and Photography, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are clairvoyant chimney sweeps to be believed?

  1. Beautiful picture, as always.

  2. I think I´d be hoping for a chill so that I could sit by that beautiful fire!

  3. ambrosiana says:

    Temperatures are high here!!! We were in the 30’s last weekend!!! But hopefully Autum is arriving soon by the end of this week!!! Oh!! I remember that corner!!!! So cozy..I wish I had a chimney!!!

  4. James says:

    I just love receive your blogs as I can enjoy the humour and realise what I am missing about France so much. Ahhhh the chance to be tucked up in the corner of the Combrailles, Auvergne with my camera, food and the thought of a grocery van coming through the village on wednesday.
    Thanks (lol)

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I hope you’ve a dog. Just like that fireplace is missing its fire, that chair needs a dog curled up at its feet in front of that fire.

  6. A gorgeous fireplace accompanied by a nice story 🙂

Leave a Reply

