Blackberries,cream and sticky home made meringues….

…. are evocative of the clink of bone china, the murmur of quiet conversation and the smell of fresh mown grass on a hot Sunday afternoon, in late summer, in the home counties or in any good period costume drama. The culinary experience of eating this dessert yesterday, in the garden at La Moussiere, shared few of these characteristics save for the shade, the heat and the season. Luckily meringues, blackberries and cream pay scant attention to the script and, as long as they are well treated, remain agreeably voluptuous in any given situation.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, blackberries, Blackberries, Cooking, creme fraiche, desserts, food, Food and Photography, meringues, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, summer, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blackberries,cream and sticky home made meringues….

  1. That looks delicious!

  2. I love period dramas. Jane Eyre, Sense and Sensibility, Middlemarch. I also like your food and pictures.

  3. rumpydog says:

    Ahhhh….. I can taste those blackberries now!

  4. kiwikar says:

    Beautiful! I have to try that … soon! Especially since I really like meringues.

  5. Beautiful colours and the meringues look perfect!

  6. Oh, my. The luscious berries and cream in your photo remind me of strawberries and cream at Wimbledon.

  7. great photo, I want to jump into the picture and enjoy the black berries and cream!. your words paint an romantic image of a wonderful afternoon that anyone of us would have enjoyed I am sure. I think I will print and save your post and aim for my own simple version of this next weekend!

  8. ambrosiana says:

    Oh that looks delicious!! I love cream with crunchy meringues and soft raspberries!!!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Luscious, in every sense of the word.

Leave a Reply

