Called to the bar

Mid morning in the cafe in Moutiers les Mauxfaits and things are not hotting up. A cold beer is ready to help with any important decision making. The word “Mauxfaits” ( bad or evil deeds) suggests that history has not been kind to Moutiers, but those dark days are hard to envisage on such a sunny and tranquil morning. I had a coffee, took a picture and went to spend some time with my friend, the cement mixer.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, cafe, Digital photography, French countryside, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Called to the bar

  1. dick polak says:

    nice picture of that glass of beer – must go out and get one myself

  2. That’s also my favorite type of coffee.

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This is such an evocative photo for me. When I tended bar, I opened the establishment on Saturday afternoons. Many is the time I looked down the bar to see a couple of elbows on the bar as a few regulars sat, stone-faced, watching whatever happened to be on the TV monitors. Once each was served that first beer, my job was less bartender and more TV programming director. Needless to say, I love this photo!

  4. The background colours and the relaxed stance of the drinkers suggest it’s now a place of any but evil. Lovely image!

  5. ambrosiana says:

    Well that is such a cool picture Mr. Stowell!! I like the elbow leaned against the bar!!!

  6. Chez Loulou says:

    Love the angle and the ambiance of this photo.

  7. That’s a great image. Linda here, (the words and pics of the tableofzekki blog.) Think I remember your name from old saatchi days – I was a young art director there 20 years or so ago, then swapped to copy writing. Did a few food shoot with food photographers.

Leave a Reply

