Cut off point

I just don’t care what you had for dinner last night, and my guess is that you feel the same about me. I’m not sure why I started writing these dispatches, but the concept of  exchanging recipes was never foremost in my mind.The rut in which I find myself is deeper than I care for, and I need to extricate myself. From henceforth please excuse me if I don’t comment on how delicious your dinners/lunches/breakfasts/pickles/cakes/snacks sound or look – I’m already sure that they have been lavished with more care and attention than any foodstuff deserves. For my part, I’m getting back to looking for the things that matter to me, whatever they may turn out to be.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, French countryside, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cut off point

  1. I hope you’ll still be posting your photos.

  2. Hi Roger, you’ll be missed. And like chaiselongue said, I hope we can still enjoy your photography from time to time. Good luck!

  3. I know what you mean, its a very strange world out there on the food blogosphere. All I can say is that I feel like I got to know you a little behind the recipes (weird I know because how can anyone know anyone merely by tapping comments about food) and I have loved and learnt from your photography. Good luck with your next steps.

  4. Well good for you for doing what you want! Sorry to hear though that you feel you are in a rut. Do hope you find your way up and out and hope too that we can still get to enjoy some of your amazing photos. All the best to you.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Well, you have to do what you have to do. I just hope this doesn’t mean good-bye only that you’re changing focus. Your posts are often thought provoking and the accompanying photos beautifully shot. I would miss both. Good luck to you.

  6. Sara says:

    Completely get it Roger. Call if you fancy a chat and a catch up. Takes courage to make the break. I know the next inspiration is just around the corner.

  7. Wow – I’m sad not to read your interesting posts nor see your lovely photos. I will however, be bookmarking your website as my husband and I fancy a visit for some of your expertise in the future. Just have to get the last kid out of high school and into college – she’s a senior now – don’t be surprised when you hear from us. You’ll be missed but I completely understand why you’re bowing out – good luck.

  8. ....RaeDi says:

    Roger, I more than understand it can be overwhelming at times! I myself would not want to be the rut in anyone else’s life. I love your words, they give one thought, I love your photography each picture speaks a thousand words, that is all I need from a blog… for me, I write my words and love to cook, and photography is taking over both. I do get a deep appreciation when someone sees the point I was going for, but do not need the accolades… I would be lying if I said accolades meant nothing to me, if you see or feel what I was going for… saying so makes me feel good. I would never have a blog for popularity, which would put me in a rut. I hope you find the endeavors and that which wakes your soul, which are what we each should to be looking and striving for. Thanks for sharing; I learned a lot from your words and your works of art….RaeDi

  9. John Harvey says:

    as long as you continue to entertain with your skilful and often amusing use of language I’ll remain a keen reader. Maybe the occasional recipe wouldn’t hurt…
    With all best wishes from a surprisingly sunny UK.

Leave a Reply

