Rabbit stew comes with a free Davy Crockett hat..

This charming little group is part of the extensive living larder belonging to one of my neighbours. In our small hamlet we only have four neighbours, and each of them has a similar stock of of ready to eat dishes. It certainly accounts for their lack of rubbish in the wheelie bin at the end of the lane. No tins and cardboard containers for them, just a plethora of Davy Crockett hats on the hall hat stand. The larder animals are fed with food that the farmer doesn’t particularly like, and then he eats the animal once it has digested the food which he didn’t like, creating a simple, if rudimentary, dietary ethic. Sentimentality appears to be a controlling force in the diet of people who have never been hungry or who have never faced the prospect of hunger, such as myself. I still think of creatures as helpless and appealing as opposed to part of the food chain to which I undoubtedly belong, which fact would be painfully confirmed by any hungry wolf or shark.However, if I had to compare picture A (above) with picture B (below), I know where my hunger lies at this moment of my life. I’m now setting off to join the owner and devourer of these pretty rabbits to help him crush the grapes that he and his wife picked yesterday, as a prelude to him creating some fine Pineau, which is a local fortified wine created by farmers in the Vendée. No doubt some of it will be included in a delicious rabbit dish.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, grapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Rabbit, Uncategorized, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rabbit stew comes with a free Davy Crockett hat..

  1. “Sentimentality appears to be a controlling force in the diet of people who have never been hungry or who have never faced the prospect of hunger, such as myself.” So true. My father in law has never taken up hunting because he says when you have to do it to eat as a kid, it’s hard to see it as a sport later in life. He’s an avid fisherman, but that’s a whole different thing. He throws the fish back, makes the fly ties….

  2. We keep chickens bred solely for eating, but we give them plenty of space (unlike some of our neighbours) and are both too soft to actually do “the deed” ourselves. The butcher´s son takes care of that quickly and without fuss. Do hope the wine making goes well – hard work but good fun!

  3. When I first saw the post title, I thought you had made rabbit stew! Guess not.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Within walking distance of my home is a live poultry store where rabbits, was well as poultry of all ages and sizes are sold and butchered.I purchase my turkey for Thanksgiving from them every year. I must admit, though, that even after having cleaned chickens, pheasant, and a few rabbits, as a boy, walking into the place gives me pause. It is, without a doubt, my least favorite task leading up to Thanksgiving.

  5. I like (and eat) both your pictures. (Although the vegetables look as though they have more space, the rabbits look rather constrained.) People here keep rabbits like this too, and I’ve thought of it, as well as chickens, but they’re too much of a responsibility. Vegetables are easier to leave for a few days! Travelling home yesterday I had a very good lapin à la moutarde in the Gare de Lyon – I was hoping there’d be a recipe here!

  6. Oh, though it will be sad to hear that the pretty rabbits are gone, I’m sure they’ll taste delicious with the wine! Personally, I enjoy the taste of rabbit.

  7. ceciliag says:

    the rabbits in their little jail, with their little whiskers quivering for the camera – what a shot. I am hoping that you will give us shots of the wine harvest as we are harvesting ours on sunday to make an early vidal blanc. ..c

  8. Thank you for the beautiful photographs and the inspiration. We are always looking for ways to improve our craft. Your photography has inspired us. You’re lucky to be living in such a beautiful setting. We hope to land in a similar place where we can cook, create and photograph. Thank you again!

  9. ambrosiana says:

    I love rabbit…but I don’t like to see them before I eat them..:-(

  10. Oohh poor things! Love the pictures, as always and rabits, but normally I don’t cook it at home, can’t esplain my children why are we eating Thumper (Bambi’s best friend)!!

  11. ....RaeDi says:

    The pictures are beautiful, I mysel cannot partake in eating a bunny….RaeDi

Leave a Reply

