A good supper after a day mixing cement….

Today finds me preparing for an outing to the seaside. There will be a bucket and spade, but they will be sitting next to a hungry cement mixer that is not on holiday, which I am expected to feed with the ingredients of cement. Aside from shovelling sand and gravel, the other part of my remit is make supper, which I have sensibly made the day before as I’m not sure how my limbs will be functioning this evening. I chose to make a good coq au vin with a bottle of ink black wine from Cahors. This is a proper dish to eat after a day’s toil on a building site, which happens to be located on pine forested dunes behind a long white sandy beach, with the Atlantic rollers crashing silkily on to it, on the Vendéen coast. So with a camera over one shoulder, and a spade on the other, it’s hey ho, hey ho it’s off to work we go……

This is the coq au vin recipe from “The French Kitchen” by Joanne Harris and Fran Warde

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, coq au vin, Fran Warde, French countryside, Joanne Harris, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A good supper after a day mixing cement….

  1. That does look very good – I can taste the wonderful dark Cahors wine. And it will taste even better after a day’s hard work!

  2. I wish I lived behind the sand dunes with an expanse of beach to wander on, no doubt even more dramatic in the autumn with the winds and the wilder weather. I can’t feel sorry for your days manual labour with that backdrop!

  3. This looks marvelous! Thaks for sharing Doc 🙂

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I once had a good recipe for coq au vin but lost it when my pc crashed a several years ago (Enter the new Mac.) This recipe will not only replace what I’ve lost, it looks to be superior to mine. Thanks for a great recipe! Maybe I should lose a few others … 🙂

  5. ceciliag says:

    I hate making concrete, I hope you are building something exciting! coq au vin is one of my favourite SOUNDING dishes.. and yours looks very tasty. c

  6. This is one of those classics I need to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  7. Wonderful receipe. Would be great with the inky Cahors Malbec. Maybe one from Chateau Lagrezette.
    Mary

  8. Excited to see what you’re going to do with the cement!

  9. hopeeternal says:

    Looks great. I have a copy of the book too so will have to give this a go. Thanks.
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’

  10. Karen says:

    I can certainly see you with your camera…but somehow I can’t visualize you mixing cement. I know it can be hard work so it’s nice to know you had a comforting meal waiting for you. Now that our fall weather is here, I’ll be making that lovely dish.

  11. Pingback: Summer of the Blackberry… Blackberry Vinegar, Tarts Too « RaeDi at Hummingbird Hollow

  12. Pingback: عزة شريف « islamicbakmagics

  13. Looks wonderful and I love the recipe. Should do this with one of our surplus cockerels. What are you building?! Very curious!

  14. ambrosiana says:

    I love coq au vin and I always make it when the weather gets chilly!! I am definitely going to try your recipe…Looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

