An early morning walk in the changing countryside

An early morning expedition, with my camera for company, revealed the subtle and glorious changes that announce the end of something and the beginning of another. Every bough of each fruit tree is bent with ripe deliciousness, the hedgerows glitter like branches of Bulgari, and the chestnuts’ spiked impregnable shells remind me that I must order our fire wood if I am to enjoy eating them by the fireside in the winter months that suddenly seem not so far away.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Chestnuts, Cooking, food, Food and Photography, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An early morning walk in the changing countryside

  1. Yes, we’re going to be freezing our tootsies off, come November! I’ll have removed the fireplace and have the furnace turned up to the max. Oh boy, can’t wait!

  2. A beautifully written post – can almost smell autumn in the air now!

  3. Fantastic descriptions!

  4. Karen says:

    Your photo looks like a painting that I would love to hang on a wall in my home.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    That tree seems almost unreal. Mention “fruit tree” to me and my mind’s eye conjures up that image of a tree laden with ripe fruit. Well done!

  6. Beautiful early morning light and mistiness, and that looks like a very productive chestnut tree. Even here, where it’s still 30 C during the day, the mornings have felt a bit chilly and autumnal.

  7. Such a way with words you have. I want to pull up a chair and roast some chestnuts.

  8. ambrosiana says:

    I am becoming melancolic!!! I love that photo and I am admiring the beautiful color of that tree trunk!!

  9. Rachel says:

    Pure poetry, and ohhhhh chestnuts. Mmmm… I love the smell of autumn in France!

  10. ....RaeDi says:

    This is why you are the teacher… the picture is beautiful and your words pair perfectly with the picture… like a soul! You need to write a book! ….RaeDi

Leave a Reply

