Patatas a lo Pobre or Spanish Spud I Like…..

We without ovens salute you. Like gladiators constrained inside our given disciplines, the cuisine of La Moussiere will be confined to the heat of the hob for the next few weeks. Roast is toast. There will be no more crisp skinned chickens surrounded by crumbly, duck fat slick, roast potatoes being plucked from a seething oven – it will be more like Winston Churchill’s announcement that the lights will be going out all over Europe, but hopefully without such extreme consequences. The encouraging thing is that so many delicious things are made in frying pans and casseroles like these Patatas  a lo Pobre from “Moro – the cookbook”particularly at this amazing time of year when ripe and delicious is everywhere. Keats , close bosomed friend that he was, says it best:

SEASON of mists and mellow fruitfulness!
  Close bosom-friend of the maturing sun;
Conspiring with him how to load and bless
  With fruit the vines that round the thatch-eaves run;
To bend with apples the moss’d cottage-trees,          5
  And fill all fruit with ripeness to the core;
    To swell the gourd, and plump the hazel shells
  With a sweet kernel; to set budding more,
And still more, later flowers for the bees,
Until they think warm days will never cease,   10
  For Summer has o’er-brimm’d their clammy cells.

After that educational interlude I can tell you that we also enjoyed a simple omelette with courgettes, pine nuts, dill and mint that was so good and simple that I took to wondering why I hadn’t embraced Spanish/Moorish cooking earlier in my life. Learning to count is another thing I could have embraced, but I chose to eat rather than rationalise. My version of Descarte’s philosophical statement would be “I did not think therefore I am where I am” which is not a bad place to be. Here are the recipes from the Moro Cookbook.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, Dill, food, Food and Photography, Moro Restaurant and Cookbook, Photography, Photography holiday, Pine Nuts, potatoes roasted in goose fat, Spanish cookery, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Patatas a lo Pobre or Spanish Spud I Like…..

  1. One never knows quite what to expect when they come here, well writing wise. Keats! Both dishes look fantastic.

  2. The patatas look wonderful in that bowl, confirmation that ovens are not always necessary, and the omelette too. When my son gave me the first Moro book (must be about 10 years ago, just after I’d been to the restaurant with him for the first time) I felt it changed my life….my cooking life anyway which is a very important part of the whole, directing me southwards from here and the Middle East. I made this recipe, more or less following the book the other day, so I know just how good yours tasted!

  3. Two wonderful recipes! Just got back from Paris

  4. I love Keats… thanks for the recipes, the potato ones looks so delicious!

  5. Another stunning and superbly written post! And very Spanish too – most of my Spanish family and friends either don´t own an oven or only use it to store pans in!

  6. ceciliag says:

    I am making that omelette.. it sounds like a lovely combination and I have everything right here for it.. definitely. c

  7. Both dishes look exceedingly delicious. Great way to counter the lack of an oven!

  8. Nice patatas and tortilla!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    The potatas a lo pobre sounds and looks delicious while so simple to prepare. Although both dishes were well-shot, the dish used to plate the potatas looks as if it was made especially for that recipe. Coming here is always a feast for the eyes.

  10. ....RaeDi says:

    “I did not think therefore I am where I am” No better words! The photography is beautiful especially the omelette all those wonderful little canyons and such you can see the flavor in the color! Your mint brought to mind the mint plant of autumn allowed to flower for the honey bees to make that wonderful mint honey… I know… did not take much to bring my thoughts about did it? ….RaeDi

  11. ambrosiana says:

    Those potatoes are no way ” Pobres”, they are “Ricas” (literally meaning rich in Spanish, but in the case of food it means delicious). Since my husband loves eggs, this omelette recipe is a perfect one to try out!

  12. Karen says:

    I enjoyed your poetic touch today. I won’t be quoting any literary giants, but I will say that you are doing a wonderful job creating beautiful food without the benefit of an oven.

  13. Great food and classic verse- an excellent combination. C’est bon!

  14. whatsaysyou says:

    I really would love to have some patatas for real.

Leave a Reply

