The last supper?

I’m hoping things are going to get better. Since the arrival of Ambrosiana, our client for Camerahols, events have not run as smoothly as I would have liked. My first mistake was taking a short cut en route to collect her from the station. Short cuts and I, even with the help of GPS, often turn into very long, drawn out affairs and yesterday was no exception, so I was late. The youth of France had been playing their Ipods at full volume for the duration of Ambrosiana’s first experience with SNCF, so she was feeling pretty ill. Whilst preparing dinner I managed to burn the butter in subtle white wine and butter sauce and then the oven blew all the fuses in the house and went on strike. The night was filled with violent thunderstorms and rain is forecast for today, which makes the table I booked for lunch on the terrace an exciting prospect. The light is so dim today that a course in infra red photography may be on the cards. That’s the state of play…..it can only get better….can’t it?

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Photography, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The last supper?

  1. I think things could be a lot worse than this, although I’m sure they won’t be – this looks like the end of a very good supper, with a little wine left to finish still and a spoon that means dessert, despite attempts by electricity in oven and cloud to change things.

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    Sometimes the best of times begin in the worst way. This will be one of those times, I’m sure of it. Enjoy!

  3. I can’t wait to see what A says about all this. Too funny, in hindsight that is. I’m sure the rest of the days will be fun.

  4. Every cloud and all that….and out of adversity the best things often emerge! Hope you all have fun together.

  5. ....RaeDi says:

    You know, you can say you have added color to the picture, not everyone likes things to go as planned, I did not know that things could or should go as planned all the time, even some of the time. There too is a saying… never a dull moment… I like living my life where you follow what is happening and make the best of it and I am sure that your student (tell Ambrosiana (what a doll) hi for me and that I hope she has a wonderful time that I am planning on following her footsteps!) fills the same and you all will become more than teacher~student, you will become friends for life and will have more than one laugh about this in the future. It looks like dinner went well, the plate is clean that could be a good sign… I hope my trip (when I can) goes as smoothly! You may be asking yourself what goes on in my life… there is never a dull moment I see to that….RaeDi

  6. It will definitely get better! You’re in France! I would be excited no matter what the weather.

  7. ceciliag says:

    What next! fasten your seatbelt and put on your life jacket!! c

  8. joshuafagans says:

    LOL!!! How different an entry from Ambrosiana. As a host who tries their best I can definitely relate to your position but it looks like things are going swimmingly so try to have fun!

  9. Karen says:

    There are so many sayings that could apply to this situation…when it goes bad, it can only get better sounds like positive thinking. Knowing you and Ambrosiana, you will both make the most of your shared time; nurturing your friendship, sharing good food, and the experience of teacher and student.

Leave a Reply

