Roasted Mediterranean vegetables with soured cream

I suppose gout is quite an apposite affliction for food and wine amateur, which creates images of a testy Colonel Blimp on the subcontintent demanding another chota peg from the memsahib whilst nursing a gouty foot. Such a condition found me, yesterday, in the waiting room of our local doctor where I waited, and waited whilst being lucky enough to be surrounded by a brace of babies on full volume and quite a lot of ill people. I’ve been reading a riveting book by Margaret Visser called “Much Depends on Dinner” since the late 1980’s and I’ve just reached the salad. The book describes the history and development of the ingredients of a simple meal: Hors d’oeuvre- Corn with salt and butter, Entrée – Chicken with rice, Salad – Lettuce with olive oil and lemon juice, Dessert – Ice Cream. So it’s taken me nearly 20 years to get to the lettuce. Maybe “riveting” is not the mot juste. Engaging might be a more accurate adjective but the problem is that I only read this book when I’m in the waiting room of a doctor’s surgery, so it’s quite encouraging that it has taken me this long to reach the salad. I have an ominous feeling that this may be the book of my life, so I’m hanging back from dessert. I may have to have a fresh look at the hors d’oeuvre, no point in hurrying one’s lunch ( I nearly wrote “meal” which is another of my most disliked words along with “toilet”) The token dish today is roasted Mediterranean vegetables with a good spoonful of soured cream. No time for explanations as, with the gout suitably tamed, I’m off to the Charente to do some photography with Mary Cadogan – her of the cool cookery school – so I’ll shall be eating well. A bientot.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cookery School in France, Cooking, creme fraiche, food, Food and Photography, France, Mediterranean food, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Roasted Mediterranean vegetables with soured cream

  1. Chuckle chuckle – my mother hates the words “toilet” and “fridge” and always insists on “lavatory” and “refrigerator”! Sorry to hear about your bout of gout. Big Man gets it sometimes and is now on a daily dose of what I think is called Mare´s Tail or Horse´s Tail in English and he hasn´t had an attack since I don´t know when. Nearly forgot to say how wonderful the roasted veg looks…as ever of course!

  2. Karen says:

    I hope it takes forever to get to the main course section of the book. Soured cream on vegetables sounds nice and looks beautiful.

  3. ceciliag says:

    You hate toilet too. I love toilet. To make ones toilet sounds so demure. I am thinking of looking for that book. I am not so into recipe books as I am into reading about food and the accompanying recipes. c

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Don’t be in a rush to finish that book. In fact, it may not be such a bad idea to “forget” and leave it at home the next time you visit the doctor. I love roasted vegetables. Adding sour cream makes the dish seem decadent — and you’ve supplied a picture to prove it.

  5. You keep that last page at least unread. I love coming here, other than great photography, I don’t know what to expect. It’s always something entertaining.

  6. ambrosiana says:

    Funny! While having dinner yesterday, I was listening to a song from the Cranberries named “Do you have to let it linger?” My answer is yes Roger, you have to let it linger before finishing that book! And if those vegetables could speak, the would scream “pour some soured cream on me” (inspired by the song Pour some sugar on me by Def Leppard). Sorry to mix up rock with food but lately I cook and listen to my favorite bands so it just comes out naturally!!

  7. Yes, definitely leave the dessert for a long, long time! This looks wonderful – very Mediterranean-coloured food. There’s so much light in the photo. My son makes this a lot and often with Greek yoghurt…similar to soured cream.

  8. Hmm…I like that you only read this while waiting in the doctor’s office! Anyway, the way you photographed the sour cream is quite artful. It looks appetizing as opposed to most other photos on the web.

  9. Hope that the gout gets better, my husbands family all get this – I think it is inherited rather than bought about by rich food and red wine as rumour has it. Enjoy the cooking course.

  10. ....RaeDi says:

    Your photo’s are beautiful and the roasted veggies look delicious….RaeDi

  11. I really like the idea of having a specific book for a specific purpose like this. This blog post would make a great first page for a novel, by the way!

    Wonderful food picture as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

