Chocolate cappucino after a very meaty meating..

A fine mist lay over the Vendée as I set off for a photography briefing at a large food manufacturing concern in a nearby town. I’m struggling for words as I’m not sure if food manufacturing covers killing thousands of animals and chopping them into bite size portions, but I bet it does. At 67 years old I should stop being such a big girl’s blouse over such matters, as I’ve been eating dead stuff quite happily for most of those years. There is an abbatoir on the road to my destination which emanates a palpable and all encompassing, foetid odour of fear and death. Today there was the addition of a transporter, loaded with black and white cattle, which crossed my path on the way to the bright red sliding metal gates of the slaughter house. Above the edge of trucks sides I could see their wild eyes and their ears, studded with orange labels, twitching in alarm. It’s a strange anomaly in humans that we have an overwhelming fear of flesh eating animals, and demand that they should be hunted into extinction in order that we alone should have the decision of life or death over all living creatures. We’re even allowed to be selective in our sensitivity – eat a horse and you’re a mad Frenchman, eat a dog and you’re a less than human inhabitant of a far off country  that we love going to on holiday, but no dog for me thankyou. Any way, I carried on to Slaughterhouse 5 and was thoroughly briefed, whilst having very modern facilities pointed out to me – facilities that can reduce quite a few hundred chickens per day or hour (I didn’t check) into deliciously crisp bite size pieces to add to your salad or sandwich. Like people in a time not so long ago, I’m happy to ignore inconvenient moral judgements with the evergreen excuse that “I couldn’t make any difference”. Thankfully, for society, I never became a doctor or I’d have spent my life in floods of tears being useless. The upshot of it all is that I haven’t started cooking yet, so I raided the vaults for something delicious to show you which this Chocolate Cappucino Tiramisiu seems to do quite well. Now should I have serrano ham on top of the pizza or anchovies?

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in anchovies, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, pizza, Serrano ham, tiramisiu, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chocolate cappucino after a very meaty meating..

  1. mamadestroy says:

    ” It’s a strange anomaly in humans that we have an overwhelming fear of flesh eating animals, and demand that they should be hunted into extinction in order that we alone should have the decision of life or death over all living creatures.” Very well-observed and thoughtful. Thank you. Oh and I’d go with the serrano ham.

  2. Big girl’s blouse? Have the ham.

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    As a recovering chocoholic, I must say that your photo mouth-watering good.

  4. Hmm, I think you should do the ham and anchovies! Actually, I am such a carnivore, but I prefer veggie pizza, odd I know.

  5. Ha! “Stop being a big girl’s blouse”? Hilarious! Your photo looks simply fantastic.

  6. ceciliag says:

    I am with the Ham guys. What is that saying about never wanting tosee how they make laws or sausages? c

  7. ambrosiana says:

    You have raised such a difficult issue. After visiting http://www.peta.org, I have changed the way I see eating meat. Not that I have become vegetarian, but I eat less meat and now I am choosing to eat more organic meat or meat by products. I guess it is a matter of over consumption of meat and therefore, over production of meat. I read an article of the horrible raising and living conditions chicken are exposed due to the high demand of chicken meat. And I can go on and
    on. As far as pizza, neither serrano, nor anchovies would do for me. I love a plain margherita pizza (tomatoes, mozarella, and lots of fresh basil).

  8. John Harvey says:

    consistently good prose (and photography). Thought provoking and amusing. Thankyou

  9. Karen says:

    I can’t say enough how I like your writing style…it is just terrific. And there’s that vault again. Still wish I had one.

  10. joshuafagans says:

    This is definitely something I have thought long and hard about. There is an interesting English tv program called River Cottage (nice cookbook as well) that talks a lot about making sure your meat has been raised “correctly.” I try very hard to get meat that lived a good life and to find ways to eat less of it.

  11. Tandy says:

    I think it is good to know where our food comes from – and when in Rome ….

  12. I really like your wordpress web template, where would you down load it from?

Leave a Reply

