And is there honey still for tea….

No there isn’t, there’s banana and walnut cake. I never ate much cake until I started making them and I still don’t eat a lot of it, although I now can see why people do. My childhood memories of cake are swathed in disappointment, save for some simple currant buns that my mother used to make. Most cake was a dry affair, offer eaten at even drier events. Sponge cakes filled with jam never did it for me nor did the rich fruit cake of Christmas which was but a prologue to a dental visit; but the two arch enemies were, and remain,  marzipan and angelica. Strangely enough I now live close to Niort, which proclaims itself as the self styled capital of angelica. In that town the green monster that is angelica appears in many guises from liqueurs to cakes, and is regularly secreted in every possible variety of chocolate and candy. Marzipan has the same insidious nature, even appearing as perfectly sculpted replicas of otherwise delicious and respectable fruit. However, my personal venture into cake making has led me into a world of moist ( God, I dislike that word but I can’t find a replacement) fruit filled slices of deliciousness, packed with powdered almonds, soft brown sugar and eggs. This cake is the creation of a celebrated UK based Italian chef. from the Amalfi coast, Gennaro Contaldo. My son, Sam, did the pictures for Gennaro’s new book “Gennaro’s Easy Italian”from which comes the recipe.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, bananas, cake, Cooking, France, Gennaro Contaldo, Italian food, Photography, Photography holiday, walnuts, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to And is there honey still for tea….

  1. Love the photo, as always. If I ever forget to say that it’s surely an oversight. I’m a bit the same way about cake. I’d much rather have a wetter dessert. (Since you don’t like the word moist.) But I don’t have a huge sweet tooth. This does look good though.

  2. That’s funny, I’ve never liked cake for the same reason. Dry. However, I don’t like those cakes that put about a gallon of oil in them to make them “moist”. I guess I don’t like cake. Yours looks good but I like your plates best 🙂 Beautiful!

  3. Cecilie says:

    This is a great way to use those overripe bananas that tend to be left in the fruit basket. The sultanas can be replaced with chopped dark chocolate. A little cinnamon also adds a nice flavour to a banana cake.

  4. I love the golden hue of your cake. And, I laughed at your professed dislike of the word “moist”.

  5. ambrosiana says:

    Saying that the picture is stunning, adds no added value to my comment (but I have to say it is beautiful!) You got me on the word “moist”. It is really hard to come up with a synonym word. I am actually not a cake lover (not even a dessert lover), but I remember that my cousin used to make this moisty carrot cake and her secret was adding apple puree. For other recipes she would add dairy products such as milk, yogurt, or buttermilk!!!

  6. northernnarratives says:

    I am not a cake lover but I may try the recipe. Judy

  7. Karen says:

    I enjoy a simple cake like this one with nuts and raisins. And I’ll go ahead and say it, I am one of the few people that like fruit cake. I make one that gets soaked in armagnac several times and aged until I can’t wait any longer to unwrap it and have a sliver. Your china is absolutely beautiful, by the way.

  8. sophia says:

    Ah that is a simple, lovely cake. I remember eating wedding fruit cakes when I was little and hating them. I still am not a big cake lover, but I can appreciate good cakes when they come by, like this one!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    The photo is very well shot and the cake sounds delicious but I’ll most remember Olivia. She wanted cake and, even though ill, she did what she could to make it happen. I know a few adults who could learn from her example.

  10. Moist isn´t such a bad word, but I know what you mean. And as for your son Sam doing Gennaro´s photos…talent clearly runs very deep in the family! Hope you don´t think I´m copying but also have a banana bread recipe to post today…

  11. Rachel says:

    This recipe looks a lot like what I’d call banana “bread” except for the shape (and I put chocolate chips in mine as well as walnuts). Lovely, and I like the idea of a round rather than a loaf. Mmmm… and tea in the afternoon is so civilized (grin). Thanks for sharing!!

  12. The cake looks lovely but my eyes are drawn to the plate!

  13. ceciliag says:

    I hate the word MOIST too. it is a wee bit.. um.. well… not nice really. But I love tea.

  14. bakingdevils says:

    I would love to bake tis gorgeous cake..looks beautful and love the addition of raisins in it too..Glad I stopped by…

    -Shilpa

  15. Tandy says:

    I am a bit of a cake-a-holic. I need a slice every night 🙂

  16. Beautiful tea set. You take lovely photos!

Leave a Reply

