A very good morning…

The rising sun is creating a moving shadow on the paper as I write these words, rather like a perambulating sun dial. It makes me aware that time is passing whilst simultaneously reminding me how lucky I am to have the sun shining on me. Quiet mornings with birdsong and the distant barking of a farm dog are a luxury that few have the chance or time to enjoy. For me, it can be a time of resolution whilst being fully aware that these resolves will be diluted by the petty trials of the day. There’s every chance that my current resolve will sustain as it only involves finding the finest radishes, at Niort market, and serving them with bright yellow Guérande butter, studded with crystals of sea salt, and freshly grilled, thinly sliced, cereal baguettes. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, French countryside, Photography, radishes, sea salt, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A very good morning…

  1. Aah, the great pleasures of the simple things in life. Your photos are, naturally, stunning. But I also love the way you write – very, very beautiful.

  2. Am'broisie says:

    Reading you juste makes me happy this morning!!

  3. That looks a very beautiful resolution to start the day with – lovely red, green and white composition. Bon appetit!

  4. anelek says:

    Good morning to you too!:D Beautifully delicious!

    greetings,
    http://yumyumeten.wordpress.com/

  5. I’m happy you found such wonderful radishes. I’ve never seen ones that shape before! By the way, I’ve tagged you to play the “Seven Link Challenge” over on my blog. I hope you can join in!

  6. Those radishes look amazing. Now if only my wife would eat them.

  7. joshuafagans says:

    Simply wonderful photo and nice prose to accompany it. I always love your narratives!

  8. ambrosiana says:

    Beautiful picture! It makes me want to eat radishes, which I do not like!!!

  9. Lovely food and photography 🙂

Leave a Reply

