A very welcome Hun, coming out of the sun……

In a previous life I collected wine in a reasonably serious way. And then came the ineluctable moment when I had to sell it.  The reasons for this sad sale being that it was, for the most part, French wine being held in bonded warehouses and I had moved to France. The result of this equation, had I not sold it, would have been paying 17.5% VAT to Customs and Excise, and a fortune to a transport company to bring the haul back to its country of origin. Not a great plan. I did bring some back for our daughter’s wedding at our home in France. As I sat in our Jeep, the back of which was piled high with cases of fine French wines, waiting to pass through the English customs post on my way back to France, the customs officer lent on the side of the car eyeing the mound of French wine and quietly said “You haven’t quite understood this smuggling business, have you sir”. The real point of this post is that a few fabulous German Auslese wines remain from my collection, mostly because no one but me wants to drink them. Last night I made a dessert of white peaches, skinned and sliced, which are put into a wine glass, covered with a good, chilled dessert wine and put in the fridge to chill. I had forgotten to buy a dessert wine for the purpose, so I used an amazing 1976 Eitelsbacher- Marienholz Auslese! It turned a very good dessert into a memorable moment. There’s still some left in the bottle, which is even better.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Dessert wines, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, peaches, Photography, Photography holiday, summer, Wine, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A very welcome Hun, coming out of the sun……

  1. I used to be very anti sweet wines, but once I´d tasted a fantastic dessert wine, properly chilled and served with the right dessert I was a convert. So much so that I often skip the dessert and just go straight for the wine! Loved the anecdote about the customs officer and his comment, very funny.

  2. This looks fantastic. I simply adore dessert wines. And, how funny that the customs officer thought, even in jest, that you were smuggling.

  3. Too funny. A good sweet wine has its place. So many people think you have to like one thing or the other or that liking something that’s not en vogue is a sign you’re not refined. Hogwash, I say. We wish we could find a vin santo like we had on our honeymoon.

  4. joshuafagans says:

    Quite a story! Glad you were able to “smuggle” at least some with you. The dessert looks and sounds fantastic.

  5. Rachel says:

    I went to a wine-tasting years (oh so many, many years) ago. The only thing that stuck with me was a word: “Trockenbeerenauslese”. I think it was something about German sweet wine, maybe like you mention here? Thing is, it doesn’t matter. Its just a wonderful word…

  6. Karen says:

    Sometimes “smuggling” is a good thing. From the description of the auslese you poured, I think you were very clever. When my husband and I have traveled to Germany, we have enjoyed some memorable ones.

  7. ambrosiana says:

    Funny! I have been drinking peaches with wine lately in Italy!!

  8. ambrosiana says:

    I am so sad to see all the news coming from the UK it is really scary, specially because coming from a country with high crime rate, you least expect this kind of news from a country such a the UK.

Leave a Reply

