Gimme shelter…..

And the rain came down……..nothing for it but to have Sunday lunch on Thursday. I decided on gigot – cooks can make unilateral decisions as they’re doing the cooking – and potatoes roasted in goose fat. Whilst preparing the gigot I suffered a moment of doubt brought about by the “baaing” of our neighbours sheep next door. Without thinking I grabbed the bag of yesterday’s bread, which we keep for them, and went to their field to give them their morning’s “cassecroute”, showered them with endearments, and then straight back to the kitchen to stuff one of their brethren’s limbs with anchovies and rosemary. I felt like the “nice” guard in a concentration camp. It didn’t take me long to get over that crisis of conscience because time, tide and a hungry family wait for no man. To add an element of adventure to lunch, I thought it would be good to eat outside. I allowed them the benefit of the waterproof awning, to keep off the worst of the rain, as they were family and not my favourite sheep.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in anchovies, Cooking, Digital photography, family, food, Food and Photography, France, gigot, Mediterranean food, Photography, Photography holiday, potatoes roasted in goose fat, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gimme shelter…..

  1. When we were in Scotland last spring, Katherine went gaga over the lambs. I said, you’re not going to be able to eat lamb again are you? She looked at me like I was crazy and probably told me the same. I love the idea of lemon and anchovy!

  2. joshuafagans says:

    I always add anchovies to my leg of lamb! It adds something incredibly special. Nice photo!

  3. ambrosiana says:

    Having Middle Easter backgrounds, probably my favorite kind of meat is lamb. I do it in different ways. I love the anchovies addition to it!! The foto is stunning!!

  4. The photo is stunning!

  5. Very funny – we see our potential lunches (goats and lambs) go past our house two or three times daily before their “time” comes. I am so over it! Love the recipe, looks wonderful and Sunday lunch on a Thursday – marvellous!

  6. So long as they’ve had a good life…..and I’m sure this one did. It looks delicious and beautifully rustic on the wooden boards.

  7. Looks fantastic! What a great description in your narrative as well.

  8. That joint looks amazing, the rosemary looks like lots of little trees sticking out of a mountain and the red juices are offset so well by that blue background, I love the way you use blue in your photographs. I just wish I could have tried some, lucky family.

  9. Rachel says:

    Just discovered your blog and what an introduction! Love me some lamb… Mmmm!!!

  10. Karen says:

    Leg of lamb is a favorite but I have not used anchovy before. I’ll use it on the next lamb I cook. There is always an interesting little piece of information I learn from your blog.

  11. Fabulous photo Roger!! I could not have listened to baaa-ing from next door and eaten this simultaneously, however.

  12. I’m taunting my partner with your beautiful meat photographs. He loves anchovies and this in combination with roasted lamb is heaven to him 🙂 I must say, even as a vego, it does look delicious.

  13. Chef Scar says:

    What a terrific photo! I just discovered your blog. Sounds like you lead the life of Reilly…Food, Fotos and France…three of my great loves. Do you post recipes as well?

  14. Pingback: Taking up the gauntlet….. | Camerahols / Food, Photography & France

Leave a Reply

