A healthy tagliatelle dragged up from the vaults.

Recent days have been a blur of fun, cooking and family. However, this leaves very little time to quietly compose posts along the theme of “Dear Diary”, as my recovery time is not what it was. In the quiet of this morning, contemplating how sunny August turned into a tropical monsoon, I realised that I haven’t really taken any pictures over the last few days which contain food rather family and children, so I decided to enter the vaults. The vaults, or external hard drives, contain files of the last 20 years of my photography. A heading of “Super Healthy” caught my eye, and feeling frail, as I do this morning, it seemed an apposite dish to put in this post. It’s a simple tagliatelle with asparagus, broad beans and parmesan shavings from the pen of Mary Cadogan – she of the excellent cookery school in the Charente – which is deliciously simple and satisfying. So there it is, no quips or entertaining tales, just one foot in front of the other.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in broad beans, Cookery School in France, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Mary Cadogan, pasta, Photography, Photography holiday, summer, tagliatelle, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A healthy tagliatelle dragged up from the vaults.

  1. This looks like a wonderful restoring healthy dish. Enjoy your time with family! I’m looking forward to a similar happy, tiring time next week and the week after, and it’s always over too quickly.

  2. That looks like a painting.

  3. ambrosiana says:

    The yellow and green color combination is just stunning!!! ….and of course …..the dish looks simply delicious!!!

  4. spicegirlfla says:

    Your photos, as always, are so perfectly done! Love the dish and the color combination is lovely and so welcoming…makes me want to dig right in!

  5. Karen says:

    Oh Roger, I wish I had a vault. Since the cottage in Maine is our summer home, we get so many visitors. A lakeside cottage will do that. Now before guests can eat, I’m saying “no, don’t eat, I need a photo”. Of course it’s never one shot. My husband says he is never going to eat a hot meal again. Yes, I wish I had a vault.

  6. This is lovely and looks yummy too. Why, my friend are you feeling frail? Too much fun is a perfectly acceptable excuse!

  7. Wonderful – all those lovely fresh flavours! Hope you´re on the mend 🙂

  8. Love that this was tagged as “super healthy”. It looks delicious.

  9. I love your photography
    and I love how simple yet full of flavor this pasta dish is 🙂

Leave a Reply

