New potatoes, fresh mint and feta roasted in the oven..very good.

Having earned some potatoes by teaching my neighbour, Fernand, a few of the basics of digital photography and realising that they were not earning me any interest whilst they remained in the darkness of our potato crock, I decided to invest them with some magic from “The Provence Cookbook” by Patricia Wells. This recipe is very simple, as is so often the case with her marvellous food, and it manages to make new potatoes reflect the flavours of Greece or any sunny part of the Mediterranean. Simply cook some good new potatoes in boiling, salted water for about 15 minutes, so they are still quite firm. Drain them and crush them with the back of a fork in a roasting tin. Scatter with torn mint leaves and broken lumps of feta cheese. Pour a good dose of olive oil over the lot and and season with salt and pepper, whilst remembering that feta is quite salty in itself. Put them in an oven, preheated to 180C, and cook until the edges of the potatoes are crisped and golden. Eat these with anything, or on their own, whilst drinking a cold pale pink rosé from Provence. Retsina will not remind you of Greece, it will remind that you should only ever drink it in Greece.Something tells me that I may have posted this recently, but I’ve just made it again and it needs sharing.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Mediterranean food, Patricia Wells, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New potatoes, fresh mint and feta roasted in the oven..very good.

  1. Too right on the Retsina. Taking Jade to see Harry Potter in 3 D after a large, wet lunch(post coming) with the Parrets. Hope I can stay awake.

  2. That looks amazing. We have so much mint too….. hmm.

  3. this sounds delicious, simple to make, and looks wonderful. I think i will give it a try soon!

  4. spicegirlfla says:

    I love the simplicity of this dish! and adding mint is a whole new flavor combination for me with potatoes!

  5. Karen says:

    I have never had mint with potatoes and it sounds great. The mint is running like crazy in my herb box. I have to trim it back and now i have something to use it for other than a mojito.

  6. ambrosiana says:

    Well I have never had Retsina so it makes no difference if it reminds me of Greece or not. However, your dish does reminds me of my trip to the Hellenic Republic back in May!! Great memories!

  7. This potato dish looks fantastic! And, I was having some trouble with the coloring of my photos on today’s post. I noticed that when I took the original photo, a red and green box kept appearing in the corner. I need to find a photo tutor as well!

  8. Great combination of flavours. Tasted great as an accompaniment to a lamb pie. I took it to dinner and found the pie also included feta and mint – serendipity. Perfect with a Tannat wine from St Go in Madiran.

  9. hopeeternal says:

    What I super idea – I must give this a go. I have not thought of this combination with minty potatoes – other cheeses, yes, but not feta.
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’

    • hopeeternal says:

      Have now tried this and it is as good as it looks. Had no new potatoes so used ordinary ones instead and they were fine … will be making this again, have bought some more Feta today!
      h/e

Leave a Reply

