Basil and Jamie, a fertile combination

I’ve just remembered this wonderful, small leaved basil that we grew from seed, and which, to our amazement has flourished. Jenny and I have never had much success with propagating anything other than children – we’re now sticking to plants. We got these seeds as a freebie in Jamie Magazine, the food magazine run by the eponymous Jamie Oliver. If you want to see good food photography, that’s were you will find it. The best international food photographers, including my son Sam Stowell, work for this magazine which must certainly rate as the top international food magazine. Check it out.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Jamie Oliver, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Basil and Jamie, a fertile combination

  1. That’s beautiful.

  2. I wish I had such luck with basil. That’s beautiful.

  3. Beautiful basil. I love this pointed-leaf variety but have never had as much luck with growing it as the broad-leaf. I’m afraid I’ve always resisted Jamie (sheer prejudice due to having been brought up on Elizabeth David (in pre-photo days in her books) and then progressed to Claudia Roden and then set off on my own, I suppose), but your link is a revelation – I’ll be back to it again to learn from the photography….and the first recipe I clicked on had a wonderful photo by your son, complete with the tumbler-style wine glass that I prefer to use!

  4. ambrosiana says:

    What kind of basil is that? Stunning!! I have never seen this kind in Italy. I checked out the magazine!!! Beautiful!!

  5. How pretty and green!

  6. joshuafagans says:

    Another lovely shot. Will have to look into Jamie the magazine. I definitely respect Jamie Oliver’s work.

  7. I love spices- the smell of them in the kitchen brings back memories of my youth. Growing them must be very satisfying.

  8. Pingback: Taking up the gauntlet….. | Camerahols / Food, Photography & France

Leave a Reply

