Payment in full for a lucky man

I have just returned from a visit to my neighbour Fernand, a retired farmer who is proud to be a “paysan de la Vendée”. His family had bought him a digital camera for his birthday and he had asked me if I would show him, not so much how it worked, but how to store pictures, how to read the menu, in fact how to understand a little more about his camera. This was all achieved without stress in their pleasant sunlit kitchen. Once the technical stuff had been dealt with we were joined by his wife Jeanette. At that point the Pastis was poured and the conversation turned to food. As usual, I learnt a great deal and enjoyed a civilised aperitif. He had previously mentioned payment for the tuition, which I had rejected as this man never ceases to dig me out of the holes that I endlessly fall into. If I lived in Blackburn, Lancashire I would have fallen down all 4000. Nonetheless, he demanded to pay me and I chose potatoes.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Photography, Photography holiday, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Payment in full for a lucky man

  1. ambrosiana says:

    That is so nice of you!!!

  2. The earthy potatoes look great in the (enamel?) dish – a good choice of payment!

  3. Karen says:

    New potatoes dug fresh from the earth…how wonderful. My husband refers to me as “potato girl” because I love them so much. I think you are a very wise man.

  4. That looks like a very fair payment! I never knew dirty potatoes could look so delicious and promising!

Leave a Reply

