Cocos beans on a blue background

This is the only blue that I have seen this week and these are some of the wonderful cocos de Paimpol that start appearing in our local shops at this time of year. Cocos are semi dried haricots which look beautiful and taste even better. I make a very simple soup with them that is served with a light basil sauce – another of Patricia Wells’ excellent ideas. Yesterday evening involved some pre prandial comparative champagne drinking that has left my mind slightly dulled this morning. I’ve already had a close encounter with some confit de canard that will grace our table tonight – I just hope tonight’s wine tasting allows me to remember to cook it first. Today I will mostly be photographing mussels – I’m in the middle of running a 5 day course on food photography ( and, apparently, wine appreciation) which is proving to be excellent fun in spite of daylight being a scarce commodity. By the way, here’s the bean soup with the basil sauce.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Patricia Wells, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cocos beans on a blue background

  1. How pretty! I like the blue immensely.

  2. Hi Roger
    I never think to use blue as a background for food photography, as there aren’t many blue foods, but these photos show how wonderfully it enhances the colours of the different ingredients.

  3. Have fun with the class, the wine bit sounds like great extra credit. I love your blue backgrounds, and your photos in general. Rustic and dreamy. And tasty!

  4. joshuafagans says:

    Beans with basil sauce sounds a lot like Pistou which I love. A week long food photography class with wine sounds even better though!

  5. joshuafagans says:

    Hey, just noticed I’m on your blogroll, wow thanks, I’m honored!

  6. ambrosiana says:

    I love beans, and that soups looks fantastic!! I think the color contrast with the white of the beans, the yellow soup, and the green from basil – over the blue background – is just stunning!!

  7. Fantastic photography!

  8. Karen says:

    When I make a bean soup, I always mash some of the beans to thicken it. After seeing your photo, the next time I’m going to keep them whole for a prettier presentation. Thank you.

  9. Pingback: Taking up the gauntlet….. | Camerahols / Food, Photography & France

  10. Kim Grossman says:

    Roger love your blog and pics etc. Hope all’s well
    Kim X

Leave a Reply

