Pear ou Impair……les gateaux sont faits

Don’t know much about geography, don’t know much trigonometry, but I do know that I love the “3 pear cake” that I just made from “A Provence Cookbook” by Patricia Wells. She may be no Sam Cooke, but cook she can. I have left no leaf unturned in this engrossing cookery book, and it has shown me what a wonderful world it can be – hallelujah (can that really be a word – spell check say yes). I was well and truly into the cooking procedure of this fantastic cake when I realised that I had in fact left a leaf unturned, and on that leaf another egg was demanded which was one more egg than I had. I was bereft or beside myself, certainly one of the two. Where could I get eggs in the middle of nowhere in the early evening? Then I remembered that I lived in a farm yard and the regular noise that I heard was not the titles of the  postwar Pathé News Reel but a cock, which name was starting to suit me. Soon I was in my neighbours’ parlour watching the finishing moments of a leg (is that right?) of La Grande Boucle (a big French bike race) that I didn’t understand – not the language but the idea. The upshot was that I became the lucky recipient of 3 superb eggs from my neighbours’ black Challans hens. These are an ancient race of French chickens which were originally part of a cross with our Orpington Blacks, but that crossing happened long before yesterday afternoon when I needed an egg. The result of this gift of eggs was another triumph for recipes from the pen of Patricia Wells and a small learning curve for me. Here’s the recipe with apologies for smudges:

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, Patricia Wells, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pear ou Impair……les gateaux sont faits

  1. What a delicious looking gateau! However, I like the simplicity of your egg photo!

  2. ambrosiana says:

    You were really lucky to get those wonderful looking eggs!!! They could also have been great just scrambled with herbs!! yummy!! The pie looks scrumptious and I love the color contrast on your photos!!.

  3. JamieAnne says:

    You had me at pear. The song quote was awesome!
    This looks lovely!

  4. Love the Sam Cooke reference!

  5. I enjoyed reading your post this lazy Sunday afternoon and the cake looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

