News of the Blues and Red Pepper pasta…

“In days of old a glimpse of stocking was thought of as something shocking, now Heaven knows, anything goes”. My earliest memories of the News of the World, or News of the Screws as it was popularly known, was as a source of prurient stories about naughty nurses and unfrocked vicars, or unfrocked nurses and naughty vicars,  to be digested with the Sunday morning fry up, after the more serious business of looking at artistic pictures of dead people in the Vietnam war in the better Sunday broadsheets ( should read broadcheats). Imagine my surprise when I hear it bandied abroad that an august organ of the press, coincidentally with the very same name but now well known for its probity, is about to close down forever on account of a misunderstanding due to their reporters endlessly suffering from the annoyance of dialling the wrong number and having to listen in to those peoples’ private conversations, because their vaunted IT department couldn’t work out how to put the receiver down. Well it certainly held my attention, for as long as it took me to cross a very small kitchen and turn off the radio. Living in the middle of nowhere has spared me from reading newspapers. I don’t think there is a single one that would not have been improved by being wrapped round fish and chips at the printing stage rather than waiting until later. Had they followed my plan to its conclusion they would have realised that by not printing inky words, our hands would have remained clean while eating the fish and chips and a massive saving on ink would have resulted the “print” carrying on forever. Moving swiftly on, undeterred by the Murdoch empire crashing down around me, I focussed on the discovery that creamy Italian sauces are created by emulsifying Parmesan and olive oil, and not by adding dollops of dairy. I learn these things from the wonderful blog “Tales of Ambrosia”, a visit to which is essential to those who love Italian food, or just love good food. The kitchen, now bereft of the news, was filled with the scent of red peppers roasting and the strains of the Ipod playing something good that I didn’t recognise. The red peppers were skinned and emulsified with parmesan, olive oil, thyme leaves and seasoning to create a vibrant sauce, in both colour and taste. The recipe for bucatini with roasted red pepper sauce and zucchini can be found on the aforementioned site. It’s a thing of wonder which makes me wonder why people eat so much meat and why they read newspapers.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Italian food, pasta, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to News of the Blues and Red Pepper pasta…

  1. ambrosiana says:

    Oh my God!!! You did it again!!!!! Thank thank thank you!!!! The picture looks wonderful!!!!!!!!!

  2. Oh that looks good, and I’ll say it again her site always makes me hungry.

  3. JamieAnne says:

    This looks awesome!

  4. Hmm, I read about News of the World shutting down. I’ll have to take a look at that recipe before it’s gone for good!

Leave a Reply

