An oyster as big as the Ritz.

Another strongly held belief bites the dust. To my amazement I’ve discovered that cooked oysters can be good, and in the case of “0” sized oysters ( which, as the picture shows, are very big) they can be very good. I bought two of them, from the “cabane huitriere” that I visited on Wednesday with the Carpenter, and they weighed more than a kilo. I know the shells are heavy, but that surprised me. The advice from Mme la Patrone was to open them – which was a serious challenge – remove them from their shells, preserving the liquid, and then poach them for a couple of minutes in their liquid with a glass of white wine. The poaching shrinks them meaning that the two oysters could now be put in one shell for the final cooking. The next step was to make some “beurre d’escargots” with garlic and parsley with which to anoint the two oysters that were now plumply nestling in their Arthurian shell. A few minutes in a hot oven produced the most wonderful scent of butter and garlic. The oysters looked as cosy as Gable and Monroe in their shell, but would they be as delicious as Marilyn or would I “not give a damn” after after the first mouthful. Marilyn won the day, and I can confirm that there is definitely a place for cooked oysters in my pantheon of fabulousness. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, oysters, seafood, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An oyster as big as the Ritz.

  1. If I order these from my fish market, should I ask for “0” size oysters or are they called by another name.

  2. I bet I could eat a dozen! OK, well maybe better not make a wager.

  3. ambrosiana says:

    I usually do not like oysters since they are usually served raw, However, this recipe that requires poaching sounds good! Love the parsley sauce!!

  4. What an interesting way to cook these oysters. Great discovery!

  5. That does sound and look good. Here on the Mediterranean side of France we don’t eat much butter, but we do eat oysters cooked with white wine and Roquefort, or put under the grill with grated Cantal – cooked oysters definitely can be good!

  6. joshuafagans says:

    Cooked oysters?! They never seem to last long enough to cook them ;). Seriously though this looks fantastic.

  7. Pingback: Step Away From the Fish Market! | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

