A rather flash tart that I met whilst walking down memory lane.

While browsing through my cookery books I realised that a great deal of them featured my photographs, from that other life when I was a photographer in London and not a cook/photographer in a field in the Vendée. The main thing that I miss from that era is sending out invoices. That particular thrill has been removed from my present life, but has been replaced by the thrill of each morning that I wake up, in a place that I love, with my favourite person. Wipe the tears from your eyes, and I’ll continue. The book that my hands and eyes fell upon yesterday was written by Mary Cadogan, the well known cookery writer with whom I was lucky enough to work, who now runs “Tasting France” , an intimate and friendly cookery school in the Charente region of France. We shot the book in 1994 and I’ve used it endlessly since then. I learnt how to make pastry with this book. I remember the shoot vividly. The location was on old theatre in that now very chic area of London, Southwark. At that time you just had to watch out for tramps pissing on your car, or on your leg if you stood still long enough. On that particular occasion the food studio was on the stage, the proscenium arch having been blocked to separate it from the body of the theatre, in which area a sex manual was being photographed by another photographer. As the kitchen was located at the far end of the theatre, our home economist, the magnificent Maxine Clarke, had to stride through writhing bodies bearing her finely decorated creations, whilst we on the stage waited with baited breath for yet another astounding tart to be delivered to us. This went on for 10 days as I remember, and at the end of it all the sexual athletes looked fresh as daisies whilst we were mere shadows of ourselves vowing never to have anything to do with tarts again. Here’s the recipe (with original picture) for a delicious Courgette and pepper tart: 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, Cookery School in France, Cooking, Digital photography, dough, food, Food and Photography, France, Mary Cadogan, pastry, Photography, Photography holiday, summer, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A rather flash tart that I met whilst walking down memory lane.

  1. The steamiest food blog post I’ll read all day, probably all month. Great photos, of course and thanks for sharing the story and the recipe.

  2. Oh, my! What an intense post. I’m extremely jealous of your photos. Wonderful story!

  3. Making food fascinating seems to be your specialty 🙂

  4. Maxine Clark says:

    I remember it only too well Roger…..and then there was the visit from the chiropodist with his head-lamp! Heady days, eh? Maxine The Magnificent xxx

Leave a Reply

