A crisp summer tart of smoked salmon, creme fraiche and dill.

Summer has moved my photography to locations outside of the kitchen. The low window of our south facing kitchen provides wonderful diffused light, but when the high sun of summer arrives, I decamp to the shelter of the awning on the north side of the house. In the morning this sheltered spot provides the softest light. I gave the soft light treatment to this wonderful smoked salmon tart. Ideally the tart should be made with raw salmon, but there is a faction in the household that would not sanction that option, so smoked salmon it is. My calm demeanour hides my surprise at firstly discovering FoodPress and secondly at noticing that I had not been included in this illustrious band of food bloggers. I shall have to work harder. Food bloggers might be interested to hear that I will be doing a special series of food photography seminars through this September and October. Contact 

 for further details. And here’s the recipe:

Crisp Summer Tart with Smoked Salmon, Creme Fraiche, Melted Onions and Fresh Dill

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, dough, food, Food and Photography, pastry, Photography, Photography holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A crisp summer tart of smoked salmon, creme fraiche and dill.

  1. I’m not sure how they select those, but you’re uberworthy! I love this recipe and the photo.

  2. Oops, I knew something was “different” about the site when the comment box was in the middle of the post. I must still be running a fever…

Leave a Reply

